PDA

View Full Version : RAM info



notechyet
20-02-2007, 03:33 PM
Hello members

I have ordered and inserted (4)new RAM sticks.
I had ordered PC2700. Now with System Info v 1.6 it shows up that one stick is PC 2100.
For optimal working they should all be the same or at least two of the same in the designated slots(as per MB manual)
Is this program(System Info v 1.6) reliable program?
Or are there any others (progs) that give me the same detail information so I could verify?

Thanks in advance

G

Speedy Gonzales
20-02-2007, 03:43 PM
Try this (http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html)

I've never used or heard of System info.

notechyet
20-02-2007, 04:03 PM
Try this (http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html)

I've never used or heard of System info.

Thanks Speedy
I had the belarc.exe in my downloads folder and just used it now. It does not show what the type of RAM sticks are except their MB value.
So....?

G

Speedy Gonzales
20-02-2007, 04:07 PM
If you're trying to run it in dual channel mode the post screen (if the mobo supports it) should tell you what the speed is

(like DDR frequency 266 mhz, 333, or 400 dual channel), linear mode.

While the system is booting as soon as it gets to the post screen press pause.

Whats the screen say?

Pete O'Neil
20-02-2007, 04:08 PM
What speed is physically printed on each stick? Have you try running each stick on its own with all memory settings in the BIOS set to spd to see what speed it runs at?

notechyet
20-02-2007, 04:28 PM
Hi Pete and Speedy

I have done as suggested by Speedy and it states DDR SDRAM Speed 266M

the prints on the RAM boxes say:
3 of them are : KVR266X64C25/512 (PMS 124)(found to be PC2700)
512MB 266MHZ DDR PC2100 DIMM CL2.5

1 of them is : KVR266X64C25/512 (NAN 120)(found to be PC2100)
512MB 266MHZ DDR PC2100 DIMM CL2.5

EXTRACT FROM THE MB MANUAL SAYS:
"
“To Enable Dual-Channel DDR, the following conditions must be met:
l.You must use either DIMMl & DIMM3 together or DIMM2 & DIMM4 together or all four DIMM
slots together.
• Same Density (128MB, 256MB, 512MB, etc.)
• Same DRAM technology (128Mb, 256Mb, or 512Mb)
• Same DRAM bus width (x8 or xl 6)
• Both either single-sided or dual-sided -
• Same brand
• Same timing specifications
• Same DDR speed”

DOES THAT ALL MAKE SENSE?

g

Speedy Gonzales
20-02-2007, 04:36 PM
Umm it should tell u on the post screen whether its running in Dual or single channel.

If it says dual channel then its running in dual channel, if not then it'll say single channel.

If u brought all 4 thinking they were 2700 I would take the other one back that says 2100 and get them to replace it with a 2700 as well.

Thats right for dual channel to work, they have to be the same brand/speed/and same amount of ram.

notechyet
20-02-2007, 04:50 PM
Speedy
I have restarted the machine again and the only thing it says I mentioned before.
So I take that, if it is not running dual channel, it does not mention it.
Would there be any hints to this in the BIOS settings?
G

Sweep
20-02-2007, 05:05 PM
Some motherboards do not have dual channel capability anyway.

Motherboard make and model?

For Speedy.

SysInfo comes with Office..... Help SysInfo.

Belarc etc is better.

stevie_boy
20-02-2007, 06:43 PM
CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php) should give you all the info you need and it's free. The download link is at the top left of that page.

In CPU-Z on the 'Memory' tab, to the right of Channels #, if it says Dual then your memory is configured to run in dual channel mode.

To find out what speed your memory modules are rated at go to the 'SPD' tab. Next to Max Bandwidth it should have something like "PC2700 (166MHz)". Use the drop down box to check each memory slot.

motorbyclist
20-02-2007, 07:06 PM
try everest home edition, you can still get it off bit torrent or limewire or whatever:2cents:

maybe the shop stuffed up the order

notechyet
20-02-2007, 08:42 PM
Thanks for all that.

Here the link (http://www.gtopala.com/) to the program I mentioned above.
I will try your one stevie-boy.
The MB is:
Albatron PX865P (Pro) / PX865PE (Pro) / PX865PEL-800 / PX865PE Lite (Pro)


G