PDA

View Full Version : RAM couldnt be "read"



aidanmaz
20-02-2007, 09:39 AM
Hi
I have a 1gb of ram 2x512 sticks, recently (over the past month) i get error....0x12(whole bunch of numbers) memory couldnt be "read" this is usually in IE and a few games. Is one of my sticks playin up?

Cheers

godfather
20-02-2007, 09:42 AM
Not necessarily.

This error has a multitude of causes, most relate to add-ins to IE or to a malware infection.

While it can relate to RAM, in my experience it usually doesn't.

PENTIUM
20-02-2007, 10:47 AM
I would run MEMTEST-86 [if you have a floppy drive]
This will tell you if it is the RAM or if it is the applications.
My thoughts are it is likely to be a section of the RAM.
You could, if this is the case, try re-seating it, as there can be corrosion or dust with the contacts.

Erayd
20-02-2007, 11:30 AM
I would run MEMTEST-86 [if you have a floppy drive]Memtest86 does not require a floppy drive - see here: http://memtest.org/#downiso

godfather
20-02-2007, 02:58 PM
A RAM error would cause a crash in most cases, not this specific error.

The error is telling you that the memory location it was directed to was unable to be read (because it is outside the addressable area of memory usually).

That means the instruction encountered sent it to the wrong place, not that the memory at that place was faulty.

Whist it's *possible* that bad RAM may have sent it there, I prefer my explanation or this one:
http://support.perseus.com/resources/2.00/en/troubleshooting/memory_not_read_error.htm

Millin
20-02-2007, 04:33 PM
There're a lot of reasons.Such as system error,software error,and even your physical RAM error and so on.Are the games online or not?If they do,it could be wrong with some networking problems.
"RAM couldn't be read" is a most common problem in Windows,don't worry.