PDA

View Full Version : No sound with Vista



Bryan
04-02-2007, 08:44 AM
Vista is loaded but without sound.

I have a Gigabyte mobo GA-K8NF-9. nVidia=Nforced-4X.

The audio seems to be Audio GbE.

Should I try and get driver updates fron nVidia and/or Gigabyte and TRY... to install them?

Bryan

Trev
04-02-2007, 09:05 AM
Yes.

Trevor :)

Sweep
04-02-2007, 09:27 AM
Did you do a clean install of Vista?

Which revision of the GA-K8NF-9 do you have? There appears to be three of them.

Bryan
04-02-2007, 09:56 AM
Yes it was a clean install.

The mobo specs seems to be GA-K8NF-9. nVidia=Nforced-4X / PCI-E*16
K8 Socket 939 / ATX/ 2PCI*1 4 DDR400 Dual-CH / 8-CH Audio GbE / 4 Sata / 10 USB2.0

It is the K8 Triton Series supporting AMD Athlon 64 FX / Athlon 64 Processors

PENTIUM
04-02-2007, 12:46 PM
Just a suggestion-

Go to System Info
Sound Device
see what it says-

With my GeForce Athlon 64 Processor Gigabyte motherboard it said Realtek AC97 audio
I downloaded their new Vista driver
It works

You can Google to find Vista drivers for other sound devices

RealBigDog
04-02-2007, 01:53 PM
Does anyone who installs Vista in spite of all the warnings deserve help here?

Big John
04-02-2007, 05:23 PM
Does anyone who installs Vista in spite of all the warnings deserve help here?

He asked for help so if you cant give any then shut up and go back crawl in your cave.

As for the sound, Grab the lastest drivers for vista from the Gigabyte site. Also make sure you have the latest updates for vista as there is one that fixes issues with HD sound not working after reboot. I had this and the fix fixed it.

I am running Vista Ultimate and have to say it is just as fast as XP and certainly not as slow as the RC1 or RC2. It is less intrusive with it's requests for okay to run programs as well.

Well worth the $301 I paid for it.

Breezzee
04-02-2007, 05:35 PM
Here's another driver site that I've been given.

http://www.radarsync.com/vista/

Quote:
This FREE page lists the latest Windows Vista drivers and provides direct links to the files for downloads. We're offering this as a free service to the community, to help you all get through this challenging period of Vista-transitioning.

Speedy Gonzales
04-02-2007, 06:59 PM
Make sure u get them (drivers) whatever it is from the maker's site.

For the right version of Windows, you're using.

Not from any other site, and definitely not from Windowsupdate.

Which will totally screw things up.