PDA

View Full Version : Mac specialists required for this one...



Agent_24
03-02-2007, 05:43 PM
RE: my old powerpc 6100 - has has system 7.5.3 reinstalled on it so many times that nothing works properly, half the stuff is bung and I'm sure the whole thing needs a good reformat and reinstall completely.

I managed to download system 8.6 as an ISO (I believe a renamed toast image, not sure) which I want to test before I try to buy a copy, in case it doesn't work or there is something wrong with the hardware...

any suggestions on how to ensure I can burn this image to CD-R within windows and be able to boot the mac from it? (or perhaps check the image beforehand to make sure it's even in the right format etc)

winmacguy
03-02-2007, 05:52 PM
Agent 24 do you have any vital relevant information on your Powerpc 6100 that needs to be accessed or applications that can only be accessed by using it?

Agent_24
03-02-2007, 08:13 PM
There's no documents or programs I really want on it, unless you can tell me anything I should specifically backup... I was thinking FTP to my XP computer could work if I need to do anything - I have managed to get it seeing a hosted website with netscape, just I don't know about where to find a suitable FTP program for it

winmacguy
03-02-2007, 08:52 PM
A system that old is going to be a bit of a mission. I suggest you PM plod or maccrazy who are the other mac regulars (current users) on this site. I have a feeling that setting up a connection with XP via apple talk might be a bit of a fiddle. The oldest system I have used was OS 9.2 which is what I started on.

Morgenmuffel
03-02-2007, 10:54 PM
I managed to download system 8.6 as an ISO (I believe a renamed toast image, not sure) which I want to test before I try to buy a copy, in case it doesn't work or there is something wrong with the hardware...


first off i have only dabbled with macs but here goes

If it's an ISO it should burn fine on windows, if it is an img (or dmg?) you will need to convert it to an iso using the disk utility on the mac (although i don't know if this works on 7.5)

anyway try burning it as it on the PC -mCD-rs are less than a dollar each these days and if it fails you get a shiny coaster for your hot drinks

winmacguy
03-02-2007, 11:11 PM
first off i have only dabbled with macs but here goes

If it's an ISO it should burn fine on windows, if it is an img (or dmg?) you will need to convert it to an iso using the disk utility on the mac (although i don't know if this works on 7.5)

Correct it is dmg

motorbyclist
04-02-2007, 04:56 AM
half the stuff is bung and I'm sure the whole thing needs a good reformat and reinstall completely.


welcome to the world of apple products:D

plod
04-02-2007, 07:45 AM
BIN IT unless its your only computer

winmacguy
04-02-2007, 08:24 AM
welcome to the world of apple products:D

Considering his machine is slightly older than Windows 95.....:rolleyes:

Agent_24
04-02-2007, 09:26 AM
Ok, tried burning with alcohol - I get this. (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/alcohol.JPG) Any ideas on what these settings should be??

And the other thing - How to ensure it is bootable - as I am not too sure on how the bootsectors for macs work... probably a stupid question but unfortunately the truth.

Morgenmuffel
04-02-2007, 09:46 AM
Hmm can't help you with that

is your mac - the one that could run Dos apps as well?

winmacguy
04-02-2007, 10:33 AM
Being that the Mac in question is a Powermac 6100 which according to my info was released in 1994
"Notes

The Minimum System Software for the 6100/66 is 7.5, and the Gestalt ID is 100.

Introduced in March 1994, the PowerMac 6100 was the first Mac to be powered by a PowerPC processor. An optional AV configuration was available. The 6100 came in a Centris 610-style low-profile case, cost $1,700, and was replaced in January 1995 by the 6100/66 which upgraded the processor to 66 MHz. It was discontinued at the end of 1995. The 6100/66 DOS was also available, with a 66 MHz 486DX/2 processor card, and was discontinued in early 1996. The 6100 was also offered bundled with a monitor and various hard drives, as the Performas 6110CD, 6112CD, 6115CD, 6116CD, 6117CD, and 6118CD.

Agent_24
04-02-2007, 11:54 AM
Yeah, mine has an empty slot and no extra cards installed, so I don't think it can do DOS.

But I think i've got it worked out:


You then have to specify the parameters of the ISO file (this holds true for HFS images): Type of image: Data Mode 1. Block size: 2048. File precursor and image trailer: 0 length. No Scrambled and no Swapped.

Now It actually boots, correction, booting (damn 1x CD drives are SLOW)

Shall be interesting to see what happens now....

motorbyclist
04-02-2007, 02:25 PM
Considering his machine is slightly older than Windows 95.....:rolleyes:

now i know that, but agent24 also has (or had) a windows 3.1 machine working fine:p and my pentium 133 which is on win98 untill i can find a win95 cd works fine too

winmacguy
04-02-2007, 02:28 PM
:)

Agent_24
04-02-2007, 07:16 PM
as an update to my mac escapade:

Thanks to windows server 2003, I managed to get appletalk running hosting a shared directory which I am now copying the entire contents of the mac's harddrive to across the network, using stuffit to create a gigantic .SIT file.

It's about 50% done :D

Should be able to reformat and stick OS 8.6 on it tonight sometime

Billy T
04-02-2007, 07:23 PM
Considering his machine is slightly older than Windows 95.....:rolleyes:
Bung is bung, whatever way you try to dress it up, but my original installation of W98 is still going strong on my P166 despite daily use since 1996/7 or so. No reformats, no reinstallations, all programs working.

Go figure.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

winmacguy
04-02-2007, 07:52 PM
Bung is bung, whatever way you try to dress it up

Very true Billy, my other suggestion would have been to replace it with something newer.

Agent_24
04-02-2007, 09:06 PM
10 years with no screwups for WINDOWS?? that actually scares me...

motorbyclist
04-02-2007, 10:19 PM
10 years with no screwups for WINDOWS?? that actually scares me...

now, you see, he clearly doesn't do what you do, which is tweaking till it breaks, then reformat and start again

remember my 133 has had no problems even when it was on win95, although it has had a few ram increases

Metla
04-02-2007, 11:32 PM
At one time (2 years ago) I serviced an office that ran entirely on Windows 95 machines, Every month I would suggest an upgrade, No problem said the manager, as soon as these ones break we will replace them.

motorbyclist
04-02-2007, 11:51 PM
At one time (2 years ago) I serviced an office that ran entirely on Windows 95 machines, Every month I would suggest an upgrade, No problem said the manager, as soon as these ones break we will replace them. 2 years ago, win95 :horrified


then again.....
where i currently work they still use dos for most machines. only two have xp (forced to to run newer software) and one cnc router has win2000 (came that way from germany). it's awesome, the only issues they've had are user based

Agent_24
05-02-2007, 10:38 AM
I must agree though, those computers in question are no doubt not subjected to my degree of experimentation which can occurr at times ...(although sometimes I swear they experiment on themselves)