PDA

View Full Version : Wininet.dll Missing



radium
03-02-2007, 03:46 PM
When Loading windows I get this error message Wininet.dll missing Explorer.exe cannot load.

As I cannot get into windows how do I fix this. If I try to use task manager I get the same sort of error relating to wininet.

How Do I replace this missing dll.

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
03-02-2007, 03:55 PM
How did u get into task manager then if Windows doesn't load?

You may have some kind of virus or something that overwrote / killed it / deleted it.

Or you could type sfc / scannow under start/run.

See if it get it off the XP cd or whatever cd you have.

radium
03-02-2007, 04:00 PM
I was removing some stubbon spyware off a mates computer than on reboot I got this message that Explorer cannot run because Wininet.dll is missing.

Sorry Windows still loads but I have no Explorer or desktop, I can start Task manager thou. However, I cant run anything from Task Manager as I get the same error referring to task manager this time.

I have downloaded a a new Wininet.dll but how do I install it?

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
03-02-2007, 04:06 PM
Taken from here (http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/Spyware_deleted_WININETdll_file_now_no_desktop-t46530.html)

Do u have the dump for SP2? i.e. is this folder present
"C:\WINDOWS\ServicePackFiles\i386".

If yes, or if u don't know follow the steps below:

1) Open Task Manager. Click on Applications Tab. Now on the menu bar, File->New Task(Run). Type cmd. Press Enter

2) In the cmd window, type the following and press enter after each line:
cd\WINDOWS\ServicePackFiles\i386
copy wininet.dll c:\windows\system32

3) Reboot ur PC from task manger.

Go here (http://noahdfear.geekstogo.com/) as well

radium
03-02-2007, 04:13 PM
It won't run CMD, I just get same error, smitRem.exe was the program I was using.

Any other suggestions Speedy? Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
03-02-2007, 04:22 PM
It won't run CMD, I just get same error, smitRem.exe was the program I was using.

Any other suggestions Speedy? Thanks

BUT did u follow what I posted, new task from task manager not from start/run?

Did u try the first part first? What about Safe mode? Does that show the desktop?

If safe mode is ok, run Spybot if thats on it and run it.

radium
03-02-2007, 04:32 PM
Thanks Speedy

Yip I followed what you said, Opened Task manager, When I open CMD just all this jumbled crap comes up in the CMD box, and I can't type anything in it.
I have tried to run SFC.exe /scannow, it has opened but appears to be sitting idle.

It won't start up in safe mode at all, it just hangs when it's loading all the device drivers.

Is there anyway I can install the Wininet.dll from task manager with out using CMD?

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
03-02-2007, 05:18 PM
Since you've got that Smitrem file is there a runthis.bat file in it?

What happens if u try and browse to wherever this file is. And select it?

Are we talking bout XP BTW??

If that doesn't work, you could either connect to a working pc as a slave, or format. Thats the only other option.

radium
03-02-2007, 05:40 PM
Thanks for your Help Speedy, I have fixed the problem with sfc.exe, Now I have a couple of other missing file messages, but I should be able to handle those.

Ive now also got to remove all this spyware from the computer, The bloody stuff just keeps coming back, I keep getting this Dam message that says WARNING, Your Computer is infected with Spware Click here if you wish to remove! and If you click on it or to close it it takes you to Black-something, -can't remember at the mo. It also disables task manager & Spybot.

Speed- Do you think an online scan at Trend Micro would remove this Trojan horse I think it is?

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
03-02-2007, 05:48 PM
You could try Spybot (http://www.spybot.info/en/download/index.html)

Trojan remover (http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/168259-1P80/trsetup.exe) which is from here (http://www.simplysup.com/tremover/download.html)

Trojan remover MIGHT get rid of some of the crap, and reset everything back to normal (after u dl and install/run it, click on scan, then select the 3rd - 7th option under the utilities menu).

Trojan remover has a random filename generation protection option, so it changes it name every so often, so it's harder than most programs to get infected / or stop, because of this.

radium
04-02-2007, 11:31 PM
Thanks for your Help Speedy, I have got the comp up and running and Horses, Viruses and Spyware have all been eradicated.
Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
04-02-2007, 11:42 PM
No worries Radium, good to hear everything's working