PDA

View Full Version : LAN & WAN problems



Paul Ramon
27-01-2007, 10:39 AM
I have a dsl 502t modem connected to a switch with 6 computers on a network, all running XP Home. At the moment they are all configured automatically to connect to the LAN and Internet.
I now need to configure the modem so that another computer in another town can access only one specific computer on my LAN.
I have tried to manually assign IP address' to each machine but then although I can see all LAN computers I cannot access the internet.
How do I set this up to be able to access the LAN and WAN from all computers AND allow outside access to only the one computer on port 3389?
Hope this makes sense!! Thankyou

Speedy Gonzales
27-01-2007, 10:52 AM
XP Home can only have 5 on a network not 6 +. Pro can have up to 10.

This maybe one reason why all wont get on the net. Or why one cant be shared.

And XP Home doesn't have remote desktop only XP Pro does.

I would say they're all meant to on obtain an ip automatically not on use the following ip address if u have adsl.

fnphoto
27-01-2007, 10:55 AM
I too have a d-link 502t on a network & have been told this is possible using 'Port Forwarding' or something but I'm not sure how to set it up, although I was quickly shown in the modem setup (but I wasn't paying attention - damn). I'm also very keen to find out again!

CYaBro
27-01-2007, 10:57 AM
XP Home can have as many on the network as you like, you just can't have more than 5 access the same XP Home machine at a time.

Sounds like you need to make sure you have put in the DNS and gateway IP addresses.

As Speedy already said XP Home doesn't have Remote Desktop support, you would need to use something like UltraVNC.

Paul Ramon
27-01-2007, 11:01 AM
XP Home can have as many on the network as you like, you just can't have more than 5 access the same XP Home machine at a time.

Sounds like you need to make sure you have put in the DNS and gateway IP addresses.

As Speedy already said XP Home doesn't have Remote Desktop support, you would need to use something like UltraVNC.

I'ts not a problem to drop one machine (It's unused & just about dead anyway). I will look into UltraVNC though. Thanks guys!

The_End_Of_Reality
27-01-2007, 11:52 AM
No, XP Home CAN get RDC... Throught the MS web update, I just built a machine and installed XP Home and all the updates and one of the WAS RDC it is an optional one.

got to www.portforward.com to learn how to forward the ports for you router

EDIT: you can have as many PCs on the network as you want, they don't 'see' each other unless you tell them to

CYaBro
27-01-2007, 02:55 PM
No, XP Home CAN get RDC... Throught the MS web update, I just built a machine and installed XP Home and all the updates and one of the WAS RDC it is an optional one.


Yes you can run a remote desktop connection from an XP Home PC to another PC running XP Pro or Terminal Services but you can't use remote desktop connection to connect TO an XP Home PC from another PC.

The_End_Of_Reality
28-01-2007, 08:01 AM
Yes you can run a remote desktop connection from an XP Home PC to another PC running XP Pro or Terminal Services but you can't use remote desktop connection to connect TO an XP Home PC from another PC. Oh, I thought you could... my bad :rolleyes:

kesitinh13111983
28-01-2007, 08:07 AM
Hi everyone!!!
Now, I need some document for C and C++, Visual Basic, Java
Could you send me some documents about them or you could send me some websites I can download but not fee. Thanhks so much...

Speedy Gonzales
28-01-2007, 08:23 AM
Hi everyone!!!
Now, I need some document for C and C++, Visual Basic, Java
Could you send me some documents about them or you could send me some websites I can download but not fee. Thanhks so much...

I suggest u do a search in Google or Yahoo....Since this question has nothing to do with the topic.

And we're not a 24 hr service, and we don't send documents or websites to members.