PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Reader v6 performing an illegal operation



Peter Mundy
23-01-2007, 07:46 PM
Tuesday, 23 January 2007, 08:32:04:p.m.

I am running Adobe Reader 6 an old Pentium 3 486 on Windows 98SE with 128Meg RAM and plenty of free hard disk space. And it has worked well for a long time now.

However over the weekend when I tried to run Adobe Reader as usual it came up with a warning that Adobe had performed an "illegal operation"

I've Googled the message but nothing came up!

Some of the details follow - any ideas folks??

ACRORD32 caused an invalid page fault in module MSI.DLL at 017f:04583ea8

Peter M

stu161204
23-01-2007, 08:03 PM
have you tryed reinstalling Adobe Reader?

Scouse
23-01-2007, 09:01 PM
have you tried reinstalling Adobe Reader? - even installing Adobe Reader 8 if you can be bothered to download it.

stu161204
23-01-2007, 09:14 PM
Not every ones computer can handle v8 of Adobe Reader

SKT174
23-01-2007, 10:02 PM
OT . The newer the version of Adobe reader the more I hate, it takes forever to start, I only want a simple pdf reader that starts instantly. Now I use Fox It reader :D

autechre
24-01-2007, 08:03 AM
SKT174, you obviously haven't tried v7 or v8 of Acrobat Reader. Both are pretty damn quick to open, unlike v6 which was a pig :)

FoxyMX
24-01-2007, 12:11 PM
SKT174, you obviously haven't tried v7 or v8 of Acrobat Reader. Both are pretty damn quick to open, unlike v6 which was a pig :)

Take them out of Startup and see how fast (slow) they open then. ;)

decibel
24-01-2007, 01:42 PM
OT . The newer the version of Adobe reader the more I hate, it takes forever to start, I only want a simple pdf reader that starts instantly. Now I use Fox It reader :D

Yes, Foxit is the one !!

http://www.foxitsoftware.com/

stu161204
24-01-2007, 01:42 PM
SKT174, you obviously haven't tried v7 or v8 of Acrobat Reader. Both are pretty damn quick to open, unlike v6 which was a pig :)

Adobe Reader v5 is just as good :)

beeswax34
24-01-2007, 02:15 PM
I've found that v8 is actually damn quick to open and I have it out of start up. Much better than v6 that was on my old comp and is still on my laptop.

Peter Mundy
27-01-2007, 11:44 AM
Saturday, 27 January 2007, 12:31:58:p.m.

Hi people,

Well most of the suggestions said to reinstall Adobe in one version or another.

So I went to Control Panel to uninstall the old version first and lo and behold an option came up to "repair/fix" the software, ran that and a few minutes later Adobe Reader 6.0 was running with fire again, no problems.

Thanks for the time taken to help me.

Peter M

stu161204
27-01-2007, 12:14 PM
Your welcome Peter :)