PDA

View Full Version : Lost Administrator Account

Blue Druid
20-01-2007, 12:22 AM
I have just set up a couple of new user accounts, one of which has administrator rights. However, having done this, I discover that my old administrator account (the original from which I was working) has disappeared, along with all my established documents and settings.

Although they are still visible in Windows explorer the account name is not available to log on to.

Is there any way in which this can be restored? OS is XP Pro but I am very new to XP and not sure if system restore can help. I don't want to risk losing any more access than I have already!

Blue Druid
20-01-2007, 06:43 AM
I have discovered that system restore does not restore vanished user accounts!

Myth
20-01-2007, 07:23 AM
Using the other admin account I would recover all files you can.

This link (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/840001) may also be of some use to you

4bes
20-01-2007, 07:24 AM
Download and install Microsoft tweak ui from here. (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx)
It'll show in the control panel and it will give you the option to add the administrator to the welcome screen, as well as many other tweaks.

Blue Druid
20-01-2007, 08:16 AM
Thanks for your replies.

Tazz: I notice that the article refers to restoring deleted accounts but the administrator account was not specifically deleted and it is only the log on option that is missing since creating the new admin acct. Can you confirm that option 2 would be the preferred action in my case? (it appears to be the most appropriate of the choices given.)