PDA

View Full Version : Skype bit rates



ganda
18-01-2007, 09:24 PM
Could someone please tell me what sort of bps are required to run VOIP + webcam satisfactorily please? Thinking of getting BB but wondered if the 1GB cap would be enough for say 30mins/month voip usage.

Chilling_Silence
18-01-2007, 10:54 PM
Absolutely!

It doesnt require that much. Voice will run on 33.3kbps
Video obviously requires a little more, but 1GB is enough for hours and hours of video...

bob_doe_nz
18-01-2007, 11:10 PM
If you are wanting to save a little more bandwidth, drop the voice quality to the lowest setting. It will sound a bit like crap but will still be more than legible.

SolMiester
19-01-2007, 09:25 AM
I would be careful of skype!. Our IT Director looked into it for our WAN, and discovered that skype can use your pc as a relay/server etc, so even if you arent using it, it can be using your data allowance.

ganda
19-01-2007, 08:16 PM
Thanks for the help guys. Will now go ahead with the 1GB option. Re Skype security -this is first I've heard that there could be an alert. Will monitor my usage for any proxy activity. Wonder if the WAN mentioned has wifi users as understand this setup vunerable.
Cheers
Ganda