PDA

View Full Version : Ghosting or Cloning

blackhat
01-01-2007, 04:55 PM
Hi frnds

My second thread in this forum as my first thread really made me learn alot thanks for zqwerty and trinsic for providing a Valuable information.

Now my thread is about

What is Ghosting or Cloning of Harddisk?

Can u help me out with appropriate Tutorials or Links to do it.

pctek
01-01-2007, 05:21 PM
making an image of your hard drive. You could say it is a photocopy of it. http://ghost.radified.com/

Scouse
01-01-2007, 06:06 PM
Hi Blackhat. There are several packages suitable for ghosting. I use Ghost 2003 to clone my entire Master hard drive to a similar sized Slave drive in the same box. I have a friend who has two similar machines and copies one to the other - called peer-to-peer. I have no experience of later versions of Ghost but have read that they are not as friendly as 2003.

Terry Porritt
01-01-2007, 06:07 PM
As indicated by pctek, the word Ghosting comes from the name of the Ghost program, which incidently was a New Zealand program before being bought up by Symantec.

When an image is made of a hard drive, a single file is produced, which can be restored to the drive if required by using the imaging program.

When a drive or partition is cloned, a byte by byte copy of the drive is made to another hard drive, so the backup hard drive is an exact copy of the original. This backup drive could be substituted for the original and booted if necessary, or copied back to the original drive in the event of something happening to the original.

I prefer cloning, and use HDD caddies, as it means the backup drive can be plugged in and used to try things out without fear of causing problems to the main drive.

blackhat
01-01-2007, 06:20 PM
Hey Terry best software for Cloning then??

Can we store it in a CD or DVD so that we can reboot or either to reinstall the entire OS again in our PC?

Nomad
01-01-2007, 06:49 PM
They all do the same thing. Norton Ghost or Acronis True Image.