PDA

View Full Version : How do you exit programs safely?



sarel
01-01-2007, 09:15 AM
Hi guys

A very happy 2007 to all of you.

Secondly, a stupid question if I may : I am trying to play a game that takes an enormous amount of RAM and ROM to go. This means I usually need to exit a few of the processes that are running - ZA, AVG, etc. I've done it a few times, and it appears as if I corrupted some commands somewhere doing this - e.g. my BB connection went loopy and only a system restore brought eveything back to normal. My questions (and forgive me for asking the stupid questions) :

if I want to exit all the memory resident proggies to open up some space, what is the best way to do it? Stopping running processes can be done the right way and wrong way.
secondly, on XP2, which processes should be kept running?
thirdly, what is the easiest way to "disconnect" me from the internet - I've plugged out my phone jack in the past but this may have caused the problems? (If I exit AVG, etc. I do not want to stay connected)


Thanks for your help - mush appreciated.

sarel

pctek
01-01-2007, 09:26 AM
What game?
Never turn off your protection if you are still connected to the net.
Unplugging the phone cable should be fine and shouldn't cause a problem. You could turn the router off too.

Why not just install more ram?

sarel
01-01-2007, 09:36 AM
Caeser 4.

More RAM - not enough open spots, PC too old.

sarel

limepile
01-01-2007, 09:37 AM
Yeah, the last thing I'd be doing is turning off my security programs.Wouldn't it be better to start>run -(type) msconfig>ok then have a look at "services" and also "start-up" to see what could be shut down? I had about 25 items in my start-up list after I had set up my machine, now down to 9... saved all that memory!! Watch out for "services" though, shut down cautiously.
And, you can never have enuf RAM!!!

Jen
01-01-2007, 09:39 AM
Remove one of the existing sticks of RAM and put a higher value stick in.

How many icons do you have in the systray (next to the clock)? You can reduced non-essential ones from starting automatically by either checking the options in that particular program or using msconfig > startup tab, to stop them.

As Pctek mentions, if you are removing your AV and Firewall from running then you must unplug the computer from the internet while you are gaming.

sarel
01-01-2007, 09:43 AM
I would like to copy the Msconfig files to show you guys what's running. How do one do that?

sarel

Jen
01-01-2007, 09:46 AM
Expand the window that all the items display, then take a screenshot and upload it here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/). The give the URL to it in your post.

How to take a screenshot (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/?info)

sarel
01-01-2007, 09:56 AM
Ahhh Jen, sorry to be such a bore but the Msconfig box can't be maximised (at least on my PC) - any other way of showing the info. Lot of MS stuff tho'.

sarel

Jen
01-01-2007, 10:00 AM
I know Spybot Search & Destroy can show items in the startup list, but I am not sure if they can be copied. Can you take two screenshots instead then, first half of window and then the second half?

BTW, what's the specifications of your computer? I would of thought if you had the video card to run this game, your computer shouldn't be considered that old.

Caesar 4 Minimum Requirements:
Intel Pentium 4 1.6 GHz or equivalent AMD AthlonT processor or higher . Windows 2000/Windows XP Home or Professional (including Service Pack 2 or higher) . 512 MB of RAM . 64MB video card (with hardware T&L including Pixel Shader 1.1 or higher support) . 2.0 GB of free hard disk space . CD-Rom Drive . DirectX 9.0c

sarel
01-01-2007, 10:14 AM
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Startup1.jpg

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Startup2.jpg

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/DxDiag.txt

There they are Jen - the DxDiag gives a full rundown on my system

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
01-01-2007, 10:25 AM
It'll be better if u use the tools/startup tab in ccleaner.

These don't have to be in startup.

qttask

Msnmsgr

Bigfix - Some sites say this is a memory hog, if it runs on startup.

Nerocheck

Jusched

I think the atiptaxx entry is only for the icon on the taskbar. You don't need that in startup.

I would use Foxit Reader, instead of Adobe reader. If you're not doing anything else but opening PDF files.

You don't need AVG and Avast, they may conflict, if both are scanning emails.

Losing the colour / lowering the resolution may also give u a bit more ram.

limepile
01-01-2007, 10:30 AM
can uncheck all below qtt task.In image startup1.

limepile
01-01-2007, 10:41 AM
As I understand it, why, if you are about to play a game, would you need a PDF reader loaded? items in the startup menu are preloaded to make them faster to access later and unchecking them in msconfig does not disable the app, it just makes them slightly slower to open.Same with services. Hide all MSoft services and go from there.

Shortcircuit
01-01-2007, 10:44 AM
I had an AMD 1600+ with 512mb ram... your system 'should' run the game ok with those specs.

As PCtek said, if you diisable anti virus/firewall programs together you MUST disconnect from the internet... either unplug the phone line or switch off your router. Note that if you switch off your router it can take quite a few tries to reconnect when switched back on ie you might get a few 'unable to connect try again' pages with different sites before it gets going again (maybe this was the 'stuffed up your internet' problem?)


Have you also looked at the computer performance settings?

Go into Control panel> system> click on advanced tab> click performance 'settings' button> look in visual effects tab for options (adjust for best performance etc) or look in advanced tab and have a go at changing the page file size.

Greg
01-01-2007, 11:05 AM
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Startup1.jpg

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Startup2.jpg

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/DxDiag.txt
Uncheck everything except avgcc and zlclient. You will become more happy and prosperous, and your children's children will be more beautiful.

sarel
01-01-2007, 11:19 AM
Thanks guys. Have implemented all suggestions. Don't know whether it will work, because apparently Sierra and Tilted Mill tried to pull a Vista and released the game without exhaustive testing - as the TiltedMill website forums will tell you. Quite a few gremlins in the game, don't know if it's my PC or the game. Waiting on a patch. (Sounds familair!!)

sarel

Shortcircuit
01-01-2007, 11:49 AM
Uncheck everything except avgcc and zlclient. You will become more happy and prosperous, and your children's children will be more beautiful.

Obviously my grand parents took your advice, they just spent the money and passed on the looks :D