PDA

View Full Version : SoundMAX Soundcard problem

Mivey1
23-12-2006, 06:55 AM
Hi All,
This is my first time on this forum. I sure need your help with a soundcard issue.

I have a Dell Dimension 2400 running windows xp/home. I have a SoundMAX card but no sound. I've checked all volume levels and bios. Specifically when I go to audio device properties it tells me no default device for sound playback but lists my soundcard for sound record. I ran dxdiag and it gives the following information. Error: Problem getting extra sound infor, result code 0x80070057. Direct Sound Test Results: Failure at step 3 (Direct Sound Create): Result 0x88780078. But it correctly lists my driver as: 5.12.0001.3910

I can't pinpoint when this problem began. I also tried installing a new soundcard and driver but had the same results.

Can anyone help?

Thanks, Mike

Speedy Gonzales
23-12-2006, 07:10 AM
Welcome Mivey!

Looks like this is a common prob, with some people.

A few entries in Google, say this could be due to:

1. A stuffed DirectX install.

And suggests downloading this (http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=626) then reinstalling DirectX 9.0c.

Or the wrong drivers are installed for a soundcard.

2. Is this soundcard onboard?? Or is it a PCI card??

Mivey1
23-12-2006, 08:06 AM
Thanks for responding.

The SoundMax is onboard. I'll give your suggestion a try and see if it works. I think the problem is something other than the driver since I disabled the soundmax and installed another soundcard with the same outcome.

You're right about this being a common issue. I found a lot of discussion about problems with this card, but none with fixes that have worked for me.

Speedy Gonzales
23-12-2006, 08:19 AM
So, if the onboard soundcard uses soundmax drivers, are you sure the PCI card uses Soundmax drivers??

I would uninstall the soundmax drivers in Add/remove programs.

And then check this PCI soundcard, to see what brand/model it is.