PDA

View Full Version : RAM upgrade now POST but no boot - any ideas?



Gareith
21-12-2006, 02:30 PM
Hello everyone!

I just put 2x512MB Kingston DDR400 sticks into a 8S648FX gigabyte board and it wouldn't boot (no video or POST). I put in the old 512MB DDR333 stick and flashed the bios to the latest edition (F8) then retried.
Then it would get to do a POST, read memory installed as 1GB of 400MHz ok, but stop after the POST (flashing cursor).

But when I add the old DDR333 stick in the spare 3rd slot, the machine boots and runs ok at 333MHz RAM with 1.5GB of memory recognised....

Anyone know how to overcome this? The plan was to run 1GB of 400MHz memory and reuse the old 333 stick elsewhere but at the moment I'm stuck! :)

Jen
21-12-2006, 02:36 PM
Welcome to PressF1 :)

Did you reset your BIOS to defaults after flashing it?

Speedy Gonzales
21-12-2006, 02:41 PM
What version of Windows is installed?

Only thing I can think of is you're not using 2000, XP or higher, or the ram for some reason isn't compatible?

As it looks like that mobo supports 266/333/400 DDR ram.

Might be a setting in the BIOS that needs changing.

SolMiester
21-12-2006, 03:38 PM
Are you using the correct slots for the 2 x 512RAM? Consult your motherboard manual, re: RAM modules and placement when using 2 sticks etc!

johnd
22-12-2006, 10:29 PM
I don't think it can have anything to do with the version of Windows. From what you say, Windows does not start to boot. I think it is hardware related and has to be one of these things:
1. Bad RAM.
2. RAM that is incompatible with the motherboard.
3. Incompatible sticks installed together.
4. ..?

Have you checked to see what happens if you only install one of the new sticks?