PDA

View Full Version : Overheating



JJJJJ
20-12-2006, 11:38 AM
Was having a major overheating problem with my cpu.

Installed a Thermaltake Ultra-90A-K8 heatsink. ON average my temp has dropped a good 10 degrees. Idling at 42. After a heavy work out I still don't go above 48.

With the default Heat sink I was bombingg out at above 60.

Recommended!

winmacguy
20-12-2006, 12:43 PM
Just out of curiosity are you a hard core gamer, an engineer or a designer/ DV editor?

CYaBro
20-12-2006, 12:49 PM
What's the CPU? Have you overclocked at all?

JJJJJ
20-12-2006, 12:50 PM
Just out of curiosity are you a hard core gamer, an engineer or a designer/ DV editor?

Computer spends about 75% of the time in MS Flight Simulator on line.

JJJJJ
20-12-2006, 12:52 PM
What's the CPU? Have you overclocked at all?

CPU AMD 64 4000+, not overclocked. Though I might step it up a bit now it's running cooler.

pctek
20-12-2006, 03:33 PM
I idled at 13 in Winter. Been up to 29 lately.
I have a Thermalright XP90.

The bundled HSs are always useless.

The_End_Of_Reality
20-12-2006, 04:01 PM
My CPU is overclocked to 2.7GHz @ 1.5v (from 2.2GHz @ 1.35v) and my temps go as low as 30C idle and max out at 53C... and that is the stock HSF :cool:

mejobloggs
20-12-2006, 04:03 PM
You know your problem Jack? You don't have dual core. It's so much better.

R2x1
20-12-2006, 08:21 PM
You know your problem Jack? You don't have dual core. It's so much better.
Yeah, the wind blows through the gap between the cores for enhanced draught.
And multi-core is essential for multi-engine aircraft simm'ing :rolleyes:

The_End_Of_Reality
21-12-2006, 04:47 AM
Yeah, the wind blows through the gap between the cores for enhanced draught.
And multi-core is essential for multi-engine aircraft simm'ing :rolleyes: You hit the nail on the head there :D

mejobloggs
21-12-2006, 10:00 AM
Seriously though... 60 max isn't too bad. My Athlon 2100 idles at about 60, and goes up to... um... I am not sure. The pc resets at about 80, so im not sure how high it can go.

(yeh, im too lazy to do anything about it, I just don't use that pc)

Neil McC
21-12-2006, 11:45 AM
My P4 3.4 reaches 63C hard out.:groan:

Agent_24
21-12-2006, 12:07 PM
My A64 3700+ skt754 used to get up to 66 degrees if I remember...

upgraded to 3700+ skt 939 and now I have yet to see it go past 44 or so... which is interesting

Both were using stock HSF, though on the 754 I think I botched up the thermal grease...

JJJJJ
21-12-2006, 01:03 PM
Seriously though... 60 max isn't too bad. My Athlon 2100 idles at about 60, and goes up to... um... I am not sure. The pc resets at about 80, so im not sure how high it can go.

(yeh, im too lazy to do anything about it, I just don't use that pc)

Why not use it to boil the kettle?

mejobloggs
21-12-2006, 01:34 PM
What? And steam up my glasses?? No thanks.

Cicero
21-12-2006, 04:41 PM
Much as I hate to admit it,I always overeat at Christmas.

heni72847
21-12-2006, 05:19 PM
i got AMD AthlonXP 2000+ with stock headsink/fan
idle around 65ish now
should really get a bigger case.. can't even fit a different heatsink/fan into this current case

i open my case slightly at 71 degrees though..

Buff_K
21-12-2006, 05:49 PM
Much as I hate to admit it,I always overeat at Christmas.

ha ha

Buff_K
21-12-2006, 05:49 PM
so, how do we find out the cpu temp hmm?

hamstar
21-12-2006, 05:59 PM
drink water... it fills your stomach so you get full easier.

dolby digital
21-12-2006, 07:35 PM
I read on the internet that the temperature shown in the bios can be pretty inaccurate but then who knows without something to measure it accurately.

My Celeron 2.93GHz idles at 62 C

winmacguy
21-12-2006, 08:18 PM
You know your problem Jack? You don't have dual core. It's so much better.
As long as the code in the game can recognise dual core

"Quad-core chips can handle complex tasks faster than single-core chips by using multithreaded software to break each job into smaller pieces, then computing them simultaneously. The chips are most popular with users of servers and workstations running digital media creation and high-end gaming programs.

Intel plans to target this new chip at a broader segment of mainstream users, although it will still focus on processor-intensive, highly threaded programs for entertainment, gaming and multimedia activities. In the long run, the company plans to use multicore processors as the engines for its full array of technology platforms in the digital home, office, mobile and enterprise markets."

mejobloggs
21-12-2006, 08:42 PM
Yeah yeah winmac. Don't worry, we know what it's about. I was uh... ok. I was teasing Jack :p

winmacguy
21-12-2006, 09:53 PM
Yeah yeah winmac. Don't worry, we know what it's about. I was uh... ok. I was teasing Jack :p

;)

JJJJJ
22-12-2006, 06:19 AM
Yeah yeah winmac. Don't worry, we know what it's about. I was uh... ok. I was teasing Jack :p

I realised that. That's why I didn't bite;)

Anyway , regardless of what any of the experts say, dual core is uselless with fs9.

Master_Frost
22-12-2006, 08:15 AM
As long as the code in the game can recognise dual core

"Quad-core chips can handle complex tasks faster than single-core chips by using multithreaded software to break each job into smaller pieces, then computing them simultaneously. The chips are most popular with users of servers and workstations running digital media creation and high-end gaming programs.

Intel plans to target this new chip at a broader segment of mainstream users, although it will still focus on processor-intensive, highly threaded programs for entertainment, gaming and multimedia activities. In the long run, the company plans to use multicore processors as the engines for its full array of technology platforms in the digital home, office, mobile and enterprise markets."

This is basically correct, however there is a misunderstanding with different CPU architecture's, where many people currently believe dual cores are slower than single cores in single threaded apps when it actually depends on the type of processor you are talking about.

The "Single thread" performance of Core 2 duo is higher than PentiumD, AMD X2, Pentium4, and AMD 64 because of its architecture (100's of benchmarks all over the net make this non-disputable)

Where Pentium D is a dog in single thread (not disputable)

AMD X2 is marginally slower than single core AMD 64 (this is argued a bit).


So this is not a black and white issue.

mejobloggs
22-12-2006, 08:21 AM
I would take a dual core any day...

Wait..... how did we get onto this discussion? What was the original?

Master_Frost
22-12-2006, 08:44 AM
I would take a dual core any day...

Wait..... how did we get onto this discussion? What was the original?



The topic is "Western Propaganda".

winmacguy
22-12-2006, 08:25 PM
I realised that. That's why I didn't bite;)

Anyway , regardless of what any of the experts say, dual core is uselless with fs9.

I kinda figured it was a bit of a "toungue-in-cheek" comment but I decided what the heck, post it anyhow :rolleyes:

I mainly posted the comment in reference to the benefits of a dual or quad core chip for processor intensive tasks such as gaming or video editing/rendering or multitasking in general over a single core chip which has to work over time, therefore "running hot" to achieve the same tasks. The main catch with a dual core or quad core is that as we all know, the system has to recognize the cores in order to utilize the benefits. The benefits would be that under processor intensive tasks the chip runs much cooler so doesn't require as much or many fans or power usage to work effectively and efficiently. But everyone here already knew all that. Doh!