PDA

View Full Version : laptop and home network

k8smum
17-12-2006, 05:39 PM
Hi. I have a new work laptop. I have tried to get it to work both as part of our home network - plugged into the router - and bypassing the router - plugged into modem. We have cable. I get an error message as follows:
"The tree or server cannot be found. Choose a different tree or server. Select workstation only checkbox to login in to the local workstation...."
What am I missing/doing wrong? I have no technical knowledge (surprise!). Work said "just plug it in". Apologies for my dumbness :blush:

Speedy Gonzales
17-12-2006, 06:34 PM
Looks like that error has something to do with Novell client software, which most people wouldnt use.

Unless they have it at work.

Somehow, I don't think u can link it up to your home network. Since you most probably haven't got the right software or drivers installed for it at home.

winmacguy
17-12-2006, 06:35 PM
Hi. I have a new work laptop. I have tried to get it to work both as part of our home network - plugged into the router - and bypassing the router - plugged into modem. We have cable. I get an error message as follows:
"The tree or server cannot be found. Choose a different tree or server. Select workstation only checkbox to login in to the local workstation...."
What am I missing/doing wrong? I have no technical knowledge (surprise!). Work said "just plug it in". Apologies for my dumbness :blush:

Hi k8smum, the easiest thing I can think of is to get/ask one of your work IT people to come and sort the problem out for you. Windows PCs and home networks are not always that easy to set up judging by the reports that I have read by some NZ PCWorld editors who have set up their own home networks.
PS.Your not "dumb", just normal. Macs are easier to set up on a home network than PCs, actually sometimes they are just easier.;)

k8smum
17-12-2006, 07:06 PM