PDA

View Full Version : Gigabyte ethernet & 108mbps wireless LAN



nathan22nz
17-12-2006, 03:28 PM
I have 2 PC's and 1 laptop.

I want a gigabyte ethernet connection for the two PC's, and a fast (108Mbps) wireless connection for the laptop.

The only one to do this I've found is the "D-Link DGL-4300 Wireless Gigabit Broadband Gaming Router".

http://www.dlink.co.nz/Products.aspx?Sec=1&Sub1=23&Sub2=50&PID=76

I will still require an ADSL modem as the above is only a router.

I currently have a DSL-504G ADSL Router (10/100), is it possible to connect this modem with the new router.

but if I use this won't the gigabyte ethernet connection be constrained to the 10/100 modem speed?

Phone line> ADSL Filter>old ADSL Router (10/100)>new gaming router>

>cat 6 ethernet cable> 2 pc's
>wireless 108mbps> laptop


Any advice would be grateful.
Nathan

Speedy Gonzales
17-12-2006, 03:35 PM
Well you'll have to have gigabit LAN connections on the laptop and desktops as well.

And CAT6 cable.

And a router that supports 10/100/1000.

Even if u have the CAT 6, BUT the router or the NICS are only 10/100, you'll only get 10/100 speed.

Have the desktops and laptop got gigabit NICS onboard?

Altho gigabit doesn't really matter, if all you want to do is surf. It wont make the net speed go any faster.

If this is what you''re trying to do.

nathan22nz
17-12-2006, 04:19 PM
One PC has a gigabit LAN on the motherboard, so I'll have to get one for the other PC. For the laptop I'll get a "108Mbps Cardbus Adapter", for the wireless connection.

Need to get cat6 cable, and a router 10/100/1000.
So are you saying that if I replace my 10/100 with a 10/100/1000 router it won't have any affect on the internet speed.

I have 'full speed' internet. Won't the faster LAN connection speed improve the internet speed (up to a certain point, i.e. my full speed connection). Or does it just improve the speed between computers, i.e. sending large files between machines.

Is it possible to use my old adsl router (10/100) as just an adsl modem and attach this to a newer seperate router.

Thanks for your help,

Speedy Gonzales
17-12-2006, 04:33 PM
One PC has a gigabit LAN on the motherboard, so I'll have to get one for the other PC.

Correct


Need to get cat6 cable, and a router 10/100/1000

Cant say I've heard of 10/100/1000 routers tho. I maybe wrong tho.


Or does it just improve the speed between computers, i.e. sending large files between machines.

You got it. Thats what it means.


Is it possible to use my old adsl router (10/100) as just an adsl modem and attach this to a newer separate router.

Thanks for your help,

Umm, thats if its a modem/router. Cant see why not. I'm not that clued up on routers, since I'm not on broadband.

CYaBro
17-12-2006, 04:40 PM
You don't have to have CAT6 for gigabit connections.
If you already have CAT5e cables no need to go out and buy CAT6 as CAT5e cables work fine at gigabit speeds.