PDA

View Full Version : Hacked Norton



the_bogan
13-12-2006, 06:33 PM
I'm laughing, but It's more hysterical than funny. (Still funny though, my anti-virus has got a virus.

My live update hasn't reported any updates since 7/12/06. I dunno if there's been any since. However, when I try and configure exclusions for trojans etc, I get a windows script error. Same with Symantec websites. Through firefox or Explorer, I get a script error, and I can't view anything on the site.

Via the startup scan through Spybot, I can see that I have a variation of the RBOT worm.

I can't think of any sites that I visited that would have caused this, but that's behind the point. I'm wondering if any other Norton users have been done previously? Or if there's anyway of fixing up Norton, bearing in mind I'm running on a trial version without a cd?

Any help/suggestions appreciated.

Speedy Gonzales
13-12-2006, 06:39 PM
The trial most probably ran out why it hasnt updated.

Uninstall it and install something else. ie: AVG, Avast, or other AV program.

the_bogan
13-12-2006, 06:44 PM
No, hasn't expired, still has untill 27th January 2007.

pcuser42
13-12-2006, 07:05 PM
Still take Speedy's advice - Norton is a resource hogger.

Trev
13-12-2006, 07:39 PM
MY Nortons AV 2005 last definitions update is 6/12/06 which is the latest.
BTW I don't find it a resource hog. Run latest games with it running with no problems.

Trevor :)

Vince
14-12-2006, 04:37 AM
MY Nortons AV 2005 last definitions update is 6/12/06 which is the latest.
BTW I don't find it a resource hog. Run latest games with it running with no problems.

Trevor :)

I am using NAV 2006 and it updated this evening.:thumbs:

Strommer
14-12-2006, 07:34 AM
Uninstall it and install something else. ie: AVG, Avast, or other AV program.

Good advice.
Nortons can be difficult to uninstall but you can go to the Symantec website and download a special uninstaller program.

Trev
14-12-2006, 07:50 AM
I am using NAV 2006 and it updated this evening.:thumbs:

I have mine set to auto update and have just checked definitions, latest now 13/12/06.

Trevor :)

MAC_H8ER
14-12-2006, 08:19 AM
I suppose if you have a PC with 2-3 gig of ram with a E6300 CPU with 2 hard drives in RAID 0 - Norton wouldn't be so bad? :lol:

Jams
14-12-2006, 08:27 AM
Why do so many people still use Nortons ?, so many Virus's out there are tailored to bypass it, destroy it or render it useless screwing your machien in the process. It eats your machine like a Hummer goes through petrol.

Grisoft FTW!!

i havent used a firewall or virus program for a couple of years. although i probably have a fair few amount of spyware. i dont open emails that i dont recognise, i dont go to porn sites and i dont download things from websites that give me the "cock-eye".

pcuser42
14-12-2006, 12:07 PM
Free, fast and secure. (http://www.free-av.com) Pops up an 800x600 popup window when updating, otherwise fine.

Billy T
14-12-2006, 04:05 PM
Why do so many people still use Nortons?, so many Virus's out there are tailored to bypass it, destroy it or render it useless screwing your machien in the process.
Sez who? I've never read or seen anything to support that statement. Do you think Symantech would be that incompetent that they wouldn't counter any such attempts?

As for resource hogs, I run NAV on a PIII 550 with 512MB RAM and it runs quite fast enough for any normal applications. Put it another way, my daily work does not suffer any slowdowns or delays, so I can reasonably assume that NAV is not causing me any problems.

I reckon that the majority of resource issues are more than likely badly set up computers or bucketloads of spyware/malware.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Erayd
14-12-2006, 11:34 PM
As for resource hogs, I run NAV on a PIII 550 with 512MB RAM and it runs quite fast enough for any normal applications. Put it another way, my daily work does not suffer any slowdowns or delays, so I can reasonably assume that NAV is not causing me any problems.You must be joking, or you don't multitask much. I've lost count of the times I've replaced norton with nod32 or AVG and seen the system performance level go through the roof. Put it another way... you don't know just how green the grass is until you taste it.

Trev
15-12-2006, 08:03 AM
If you read my post above, I don't have any problems with Nortons either.

Trevor :)

FoxyMX
15-12-2006, 08:53 AM
You must be joking, or you don't multitask much. I've lost count of the times I've replaced norton with nod32 or AVG and seen the system performance level go through the roof. Put it another way... you don't know just how green the grass is until you taste it.

All PCs that I have removed Nortons from have been a lot faster afterwards as well, but horses for courses Bletch - if someone is happy with it who are we to tell them they shouldn't be using it? There is no harm in suggesting better alternatives but at the end of the day it is their choice. :)

Billy T
15-12-2006, 09:41 AM
. you don't know just how green the grass is until you taste it.So, what does green taste like? :D

Actually I do multitask, and speed is never an issue, but I also keep an exceptionally clean and well tuned computer running W2K. You can guess its age from the OS and the CPU spec, but it is still on its original OS installation because it has never needed refreshing. I keep my startup menu clean, don't download junk and everything runs just fine. It is a business computer, so I'd sure as hell be doing something about it if it was slowing me down.

I did restore from an image once when a RAM failure corrupted the OS installation, but that image was only a few days old so it was the same install with the same history minus the RAM issue.

I am updating to a more modern computer and XPP in the New Year though, because I now need to edit video and I accept that the PIII 550 won't cut it anymore. It will be shifted to a print-server role to replace Old Faithful, my P166 W98 box, which will finally go into retirement. That still runs fine on its original OS installation as well.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

P.S. Anybody ever seen the horror movie "Soylent Green"? That will tell you what green tastes like.