PDA

View Full Version : Whats the best SPU i can get with my mother board?



Motokid600
12-12-2006, 03:58 PM
I curently have a ASUSTeK Computer INC. P4P800S-X Rev 1.xx motherboard ( sorry if that big name is unessesary, but thats how Belarc Adviser posted it as so...) and i have a Intell Pentium 4 cpu. anyway the cpu is holding my comp back from its true potential. I have a Geforce 6800 with 1.5 gigs of ram. But as i said the cpu is holding it back. So i need a new one, but the cpu i want ( Intell Core Duo ) ( from what i know ) wont work for my MotherB. And i dont want get a new motherB. So what im asking is What is the best cpu i can get for my mother board?

CYaBro
12-12-2006, 04:00 PM
What is the speed of your current P4 CPU?

Motokid600
12-12-2006, 04:01 PM
3.00 Ghz's

Speedy Gonzales
12-12-2006, 04:07 PM
You're right u wont get a dual core on that mobo.

It'll go to 3.6 ghz by the looks of it, but only with a 478 pin CPU.

Motokid600
12-12-2006, 04:09 PM
So what do you recomend? Cuse, i dont have the money for a new computer. Which i would pretty much be getting if i had to get a new mobo...

Speedy Gonzales
12-12-2006, 04:11 PM
Stay with 3GHZ or get 3.6. Other than that you'll have to buy another mobo and most probably ram as well.

Motokid600
12-12-2006, 04:15 PM
is there a noticable difference between 3.0 and 3.6 ghz's?

qazwsxokmijn
12-12-2006, 04:17 PM
600MHz is noticeable, but depending on how you use your PC, it may not be as noticeable. The 3.6GHz you can get is quite expensive, and I don't know if the motherboard supports Prescott/Cedar Mill cores. If it doesn't, then your 3.6GHz must be a Northwood core, and these 3.6GHz Northwood are very rare....

FoxyMX
12-12-2006, 04:21 PM
is there a noticable difference between 3.0 and 3.6 ghz's?

It depends on what you do with your PC and what you need the speed for.

Speedy Gonzales
12-12-2006, 04:25 PM
According to the ASUS site (http://www.asus.com.tw/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=12&l3=29&model=173&modelmenu=2)

It supports Prescott CPU's.

qazwsxokmijn
12-12-2006, 04:26 PM
Oh, good. That will save him the time looking for a Northwood 3.6GHz lol

Motokid600
12-12-2006, 04:28 PM
i use my comp for MAJOR gaming, but...i have to ask another question, my gfx card is and AGP card as is my mobo. Soooo, i dont want to have to replace my gfx card. so if i were to get a new mobo that would support a Duo, will it be able to use an AGP gfx card? mainly becuse im scoping some out on ebay and im finding Duos that come with mobos that are compatible with them, but im also hoping that these mobos will support AGP cards...

Speedy Gonzales
12-12-2006, 04:32 PM
Only way to know that is to do a search on the maker's site. And see if its got an AGP port before u buy it.

Even if its got AGP, you'll still have to buy a mobo and ram, if you want something better than 478 pin.

Master_Frost
12-12-2006, 04:45 PM
Going from a P4 to a P4 3.6 gig is a huge waste of money.

You would be better served saving that money towards a new platform, preferably Conroe, understanding you will need a new MB,RAM and GPU.

If not you should consider a New motherboard and AMD X2 as a cheaper alternative as you may be able to keep that ram, in fact you can probably still pick up a AGP board if you had too.

Motokid600
12-12-2006, 05:15 PM
Well, why cant i take the ram cards out of the mother board i have now and put them in the new one?

qazwsxokmijn
12-12-2006, 06:03 PM
Well, why cant i take the ram cards out of the mother board i have now and put them in the new one?
Chances are your RAMs are DDR1 400, and what you want is a C2D mobo, which only supports DDR2 RAMs. As for keeping your card (AGP), I don't know any C2D mobos that has AGP slot. So, I guess you'll have to buy new mobo, CPU, RAM and video card. Considering all that, maybe a new power supply too.

trig42
12-12-2006, 08:01 PM
+1 to above posters.

Save your money, 3Ghz isn't too shabby - if you are seeing gaming slowdowns, it is more likely your graphics card, but they don't get too much better than a 6800 on AGP anyway.

If you go core duo, you're really getting 2 slower processors (which can work in parallel, but most games aren't coded for this), so your 3Ghz CPU is still fast, it just wont multitask in windows as well as a core duo (or Athlon X2) might. Make sure you're not running CPU intensive tasks in the background while you're playing a game.

The money you'd spend on a 3.6Ghz CPU would be much better saved unitl you can upgrade everything.

Master_Frost
12-12-2006, 10:43 PM
+1 to above posters.

Save your money, 3Ghz isn't too shabby - if you are seeing gaming slowdowns, it is more likely your graphics card, but they don't get too much better than a 6800 on AGP anyway.

If you go core duo, you're really getting 2 slower processors (which can work in parallel, but most games aren't coded for this), so your 3Ghz CPU is still fast, it just wont multitask in windows as well as a core duo (or Athlon X2) might. Make sure you're not running CPU intensive tasks in the background while you're playing a game.

The money you'd spend on a 3.6Ghz CPU would be much better saved unitl you can upgrade everything.



lol Dude, here we go again.


Even the slowest e6300@1.8 gig will chew up a P4 3.0 and spit it out in ANY game SINGLE or dual threaded THREADED, as it performs more operations per clocks cycle. In fact it will easily out perform a P4 3.6 gig in most apps and games as

Exhibit"A" shows a P4 3.7 gig!! EXTREME getting is ass handed to it by the lowest Conroe e6300@1.8 .....lala just normal games!!

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2802&p=10

Exhibit"B" shows how crap Pentium D is which is the original Intel dual core (probably where you views originate from)

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core2duo-e6300_11.html

I will admiit the P4 3.7E wins a few but the e6300 is overall faster. The 3.0 stands no chance in heaven!! The p4 3.6 will get beaten probably 90%+ of the time

Oh, and Overclock a e6300 to around 3.3-3.5 gig which is "very common and easy to do" and all of a sudden its performance matches to around e6700!.


BTW I agree with you his video card is the bottleneck.

Greg
12-12-2006, 11:08 PM
I think the short answer this guy needs is... P4 3.6 GHz. But if you can find one it's most unlikely to be worth the cost for the minimal performance gain it'll give.

Recommend... keep whatever cash you have, live with your existing setup until you can afford a more comprehensive upgrade.

Remember... probably only 5% of your friends or gaming opponents have better machines than yours.

qazwsxokmijn
12-12-2006, 11:12 PM
So your video card is a vanilla 6800, right? No GT/Ultra/GS/XT? If yes, the recommended minimum CPU speed is 2800MHz, as seen in this German website:

http://www.3dchip.de/Grafikchipliste/Leistung_Graka.htm

So I'm not being too negative about your CPU bottlenecking the 6800....

trig42
13-12-2006, 07:20 AM
OK, a Conroe will whip his current setup, but he can't plonk a conroe in there, and a 3Ghz CPU ain't too shabby - could even be overclocked a little perhaps.

He needs a complete rebuild, just save the cash until it can be done, a 3.6 may give hime some improvement, a better VGA card will give him improvement, but IMHO both would be a waste of money as it would be pumping cash into an obsolete platform.

wotz
13-12-2006, 08:02 AM
you need to get outside more mate. You have more cpu than most people. Give the pc a break and get a life.

Motokid600
13-12-2006, 10:26 AM
damn...what ever ill just save up for a new pc. and btw to the above coment. i dont think that was nessesary. You have no idea wht goes on in my life which i DO hae one, more so then you think ya queef...

Greg
13-12-2006, 10:49 AM
:lol: :lol:

But yeah, most of us reckon that's the best strategy. You'll be glad in 6 months or whatever when you can afford a whole new rig.

Motokid600
13-12-2006, 10:57 AM
What can $320 get me?

Greg
13-12-2006, 11:08 AM
What can $320 get me?Forget it. That's a goodly amount of cash to go towards your major upgrade or whole new PC.

Keep in mind what you've said yourself... you're not going to benefit much at all without starting off with a new mobo.

Just stick it in the bank for now.

SolMiester
13-12-2006, 12:34 PM
If performance is what you need now, sell the 6800, buy a 7800GS/GT AGP card IF you can find one and over clock that Northwood core with an after market cooler. You should be able to rest 3.6Ghz speeds, however as stated several times already on this thread, the cpu isnt your bottleneck, its the card.

No-one has asked the poster what resolution he is using either, or settings/games for that matter!

Greg
13-12-2006, 01:25 PM
No-one has asked the poster what resolution he is using either, or settings/games for that matter!Yeah true, but there's a zillion other questions that could be asked or answered, which kinda goes beyond the scope of an online help forum, eh.

Master_Frost
13-12-2006, 02:06 PM
If performance is what you need now, sell the 6800, buy a 7800GS/GT AGP card IF you can find one and over clock that Northwood core with an after market cooler. You should be able to rest 3.6Ghz speeds, however as stated several times already on this thread, the cpu isnt your bottleneck, its the card.




I think this the most solid advice "bar" a new PC. Overclock that P4 if the board allows and buy a 7900GS for $330+GST ish (don't think the 7800GS is around anymore).

The reality is the 7900GS AGP is around 30% faster than what you have now, so in my opinion that is a pretty piss poor upgrade for $330(- resell of old card). Add to that you will still face exactly the same problems in 6-12 months time should you want to upgrade again, still Socket 478, still AGP, still DDR1.

Save your money and go full Monty when you have enough, it will be cheaper and more satisfying long term :P