PDA

View Full Version : Tech Test.......



drcspy
08-12-2006, 01:33 AM
Little story for you then a challenge !

I had an issue with a puter which I myself didn't end up managing to fix....i do work at a place, (aside from fixing puters) which has a couple of puters in an office one of which is used to access a secure website which they login to and require a certificate issued by the site operators in order to use this site. Anyway.......their 'old' puter blew itself up.....well it expired and the 'tech' firm that they use (I did play with it a little but didn't volunteer my services to fix it) took it away and said that it was 'either the cpu or the motherboard' (quote) and didn't fix it but supplied them with another puter.......the 'old' one was a celeron 2.6ghz the new one is a duron 1100 (lol) ......interestingly enuf the new one while runnin xp was only SP1 and had no firewall enabled or antivirus installed (great tech service........NOT)

At first they couldn't access the website wiht this puter so they got some specialist (unfortunately while I wasn't there) to sort it out.......I did enquire how it was fixed but as you may imagine the people in the office really have little or no idea of the workings of a puter and simply couldn't tell me anything useful at all........all was good untill they got some spyware and a couple of viruses on the puter after a few weeks, I removed them, and then the puter suddenly decided it wasn't goin to be able to access this site........when you log in and it tries to load/run scripts from the site it just doesn't get there .........the site hangs and it just keeps on tryin to load the scripts but wont manage it, one then has to 'end task' ........

one day one of the guys managed to get into the site....the puter just suddenly decided that it was goin to work after all..............then he did a couple of hours work and then later tried again to access the site but it had gone back on strike !

I thought maybe it was a lack of updates (no sp2) untill it decided to work one day then go on strike again a few hours later.......had me pretty well stumped...

So what would YOU have done and what do you think was the problem and how was it fixed ?...........

Greg
08-12-2006, 02:39 AM
So what would YOU have done and what do you think was the problem and how was it fixed ?...........Remind me... what was the problem? :eek:

Rob99
08-12-2006, 03:33 AM
So what would YOU have done and what do you think was the problem and how was it fixed ?...........
I would have rebooted and tried to login

Reinstalled the certificate

Stuffed around with the java/active x settings

Checked virus/spyware/security

Phoned this "specialist" they used

Tell them this computer has also expired

CYaBro
08-12-2006, 08:17 AM
This site that requires the digital cert to access...does it use citrix?

pctek
08-12-2006, 08:42 AM
Told them to get their IT dept to sort it out......or their on-call IT contractor.

R2x1
08-12-2006, 02:16 PM
Told 'em to stop sharing the phone jack with the receptionist. And give me a raise. ;)

gibler
08-12-2006, 04:50 PM
My crystal ball is cloudy today. I'd contact whoever runs this secure website to make sure they aren't having issues first ....... try from another machine.

drcspy
08-12-2006, 08:10 PM
right.....sorry been away today and no email responses from pf1 (odd) anyway you are all suggesting things I thought of and tried some of but no-one has the answer yet..........

it wasn't the website
it wastn' a java prob/active x
it wasn't spyware viruses........
it wasn't the certificate

another thing.........they did get someone to 'remote' in to the puter at some time and they couldn't fix it either.......couldn't see what was stopping it from working on this particular site only..........

any other ideas ?........i'll leave it out 'here' for another day perhaps then i'll let you all know what the fix was it'll make sense when you know it but as I say it' wasn't somethin I thought of ..........

Laura
08-12-2006, 11:21 PM
Mouse nest (furry models) inside the case?

Rob99
08-12-2006, 11:50 PM
Password issue, with numbers either on the number pad or above the letters.

Bypass something via proxy settings.

Allow the site in the host file.

Metla
08-12-2006, 11:56 PM
Either they weren't connected to the net...or..

They had the wrong URL....

Myth
09-12-2006, 12:13 AM
I have no real idea, but Im thinking it was something to do with cookies or caching

drcspy
09-12-2006, 04:38 AM
not mice !
not password probs
nothin to do with proxy settings
not the host file either
they were definitely connected and the url was correct as the login process
is first and that part worked but the site scripts wouldn't load correctly after that
and thus the site was 'unusable'
not a cookies prob


edging a little closer with caching........sort of........

Metla
09-12-2006, 08:18 AM
They caught up with time, so the universe had to put em on hold while it caught up.

In other words, They were caught in a buffer.

Solved.:thumbs:


Next.:D

pctek
09-12-2006, 08:57 AM
Something dumb like Active Content being disabled in IE....

drcspy
09-12-2006, 09:11 AM
no metla and no pctek

ok heres what I been told they found and it fixed it apparently........

they ran a scandisk and it found some bad sectors, mapped them out and the system now works.....guess the info downloading from that site was trying to write to the bad sector.....this explains why it worked once then wouldn't after that i guess.....

as i say .....i wouldn't have thought of that but I'll add it to my knowledge base

koolme2
09-12-2006, 12:50 PM
Got a friend who says cant get email. Not sure what program usinhg but is with slingshot. Only mail can get is via yahoo

pctek
09-12-2006, 03:16 PM
Got a friend who says cant get email. Not sure what program usinhg but is with slingshot. Only mail can get is via yahoo

She needs to check her settings are correct in her email program - and you should have started a new thread for this question instead of adding it to drcspys one.

gryderz
14-12-2006, 06:28 PM
no metla and no pctek

ok heres what I been told they found and it fixed it apparently........

they ran a scandisk and it found some bad sectors, mapped them out and the system now works.....guess the info downloading from that site was trying to write to the bad sector.....this explains why it worked once then wouldn't after that i guess.....

as i say .....i wouldn't have thought of that but I'll add it to my knowledge base

gryderz_274 here. [edit: message removed]

[edit: now now, that was a particularly unfriendly thing to post. Keep your personal issues to yourself and OFF this forum. In case you cannot remember what you just agreed to when registering minutes ago on this forum, you can find the rules here (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=52243). Keep it nice or don't post it - Jen (Moderator)]

PENTIUM
14-12-2006, 11:06 PM
Very elusive and time consuming for a service person.
If some sectors have recently failed this can be a warning of impending and progressive Hard drive failure.

drcspy
15-12-2006, 01:55 AM
yeh I'm well aware of what bad sectors mean

as for 'gryderz'.........dunno what the hell you are on about actually.......why dont you just ......


go away