PDA

View Full Version : new PC takes 35 mins to boot!!!



devo
19-11-2006, 10:23 AM
:( have just constructed a new PC and it takes 35 mins or so to boot up! have reused known good memory and even swapped with other known good units but it still takes forever to boot up, it gets stuck on the "PCI deivices listing" screen and sort of hangs there for ages. any suggestions would be great.

system
gigabyte GA-K8VM800M MB
win XP service pack 2
1 x 1GB ram (in slot 1) + 1 x 512MB ram (in slot 2)
internal video (no video card yet)
seagate 160GB HDD (ide) primary IDE Master
HP dvd writer primary IDE Slave

I think thats about all, it netowrks and connects to net OK and seems to run OK once booted, but the boot up time with all combination of ram etc that i have tried is SLOOOW as, i mean litterally 30+ minutes :waughh: hoping someone can point me in the right direction here.......as i say, I am 100% confidant RAM is OK.

TIA
Devo

R2x1
19-11-2006, 11:20 AM
Maybe your problem is listed here (http://www.google.co.nz/search?hs=q2X&hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&q=%22PCI+devices+listing%22+hangs&btnG=Search&meta=) . :badpc:

kjaada
19-11-2006, 11:28 AM
The answer is here:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q170922/

Speedy Gonzales
19-11-2006, 11:45 AM
Put the burner on secondary Master if there's nothing else on the secondary IDE.

Hdd's and burners shouldnt be on the same ide connection.

And make sure u configure the BIOS properly.

devo
19-11-2006, 03:00 PM
Put the burner on secondary Master if there's nothing else on the secondary IDE.

Hdd's and burners shouldnt be on the same ide connection.

And make sure u configure the BIOS properly.

bugga, will have to find another IDE cable then, hey thanks will give that a shot, not quite sure what you mean by configure the bios though, are you meaning the boot order of hdd and dvd drives?

thanks
Devo

devo
19-11-2006, 03:03 PM
Maybe your problem is listed here (http://www.google.co.nz/search?hs=q2X&hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&q=%22PCI+devices+listing%22+hangs&btnG=Search&meta=) . :badpc:

dont think so by the looks, but thanks for the suggestion, it freezes while looking for devices, so may try swapping the DVD burner on the secondary IDE channel once i can find another cable and see if that helps.

Thanks
Devo

stu161204
19-11-2006, 03:03 PM
Welcome to PressF1 devo :)

Speedy Gonzales
19-11-2006, 03:27 PM
bugga, will have to find another IDE cable then, hey thanks will give that a shot, not quite sure what you mean by configure the bios though, are you meaning the boot order of hdd and dvd drives?

thanks
Devo

Get a blue IDE cable if u can (80 pin), it'll be better.

No I mean check ALL settings in the BIOS, if theyre not on the default settings. If USB is on the mobo, change it to to the higher speed tho. If its USB 2.