PDA

View Full Version : Networking over broadband connection



Mike_C
09-11-2006, 08:05 AM
I want to be able to "link" computer "A" (WINXP PRO) to computer "B" (WINXP HOME) over a Broadband connection to enable remote operation of computer "B" from computer "A". The computers are situated at different ends of the country.

What is the easiest and most effective way to do this? Any suggestions would be most appreciated......

Speedy Gonzales
09-11-2006, 08:13 AM
You'll need something like ultravnc (http://ultravnc.sourceforge.net/) since XP Home doesn't support Remote desktop.

Which isnt that great anyway.

Hopefully someone on the XP Home PC can install and configure it.

Jen
09-11-2006, 08:16 AM
With your WinXP Pro you can use the Remote Desktop Sharing wizard it has and connect to the other XP Home computer. There are other programs you can get to do this as well.

How to turn on the Remote Desktop Sharing feature of Windows NetMeeting in Windows XP Service Pack 2 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/878451)

Using Remote Desktop with Windows XP Professional (http://www.windowsnetworking.com/articles_tutorials/Using-Remote-Desktop-Windows-XP-Pro.html)

[edit]
Hmm ... just did some further reading and I thought a XP Home computer could be connected to from a XP Pro computer but not vice versa ... but may be not?

[extra edit]This answers it. I had it back to front. :)
Q. Is Remote Desktop available on Windows XP Home Edition?
A. No, however you can upgrade from Windows XP Home Edition to Windows XP Professional to get Remote Desktop. You can use Windows XP Home Edition as the client for accessing your Windows XP Professional computer running Remote Desktop.

Speedy Gonzales
09-11-2006, 08:25 AM
Oh I may have been wrong, Home may have the option, but it isnt installed by default like Pro.

Or you could install this (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/tools/rdclientdl.mspx) so it'll work on any version of Windows. (from 95 to 2000).

Lizard
09-11-2006, 09:32 AM
I've been using a free program recommended in a previous PC World (I think) called LogMeIn. You install it on the computer you want to access, and it runs at startup. So long as it's connected to the internet, you can access it from any computer via the LogMeIn website. Not sure about the security of this method, so you may want to research it a bit more if you have concerns.

I used it a few weeks ago, and was quite impressed with the speed. My computer is on 2Mb/128kbps BB, and the computer I was using to access was on dial-up. In spite of that, once it established all the settings, navigating the desktop, and accessing email and programmes was a breeze.

xmojo1
09-11-2006, 03:44 PM
I've been using a free program recommended in a previous PC World (I think) called LogMeIn. You install it on the computer you want to access, and it runs at startup. So long as it's connected to the internet, you can access it from any computer via the LogMeIn website. Not sure about the security of this method, so you may want to research it a bit more if you have concerns.

I used it a few weeks ago, and was quite impressed with the speed. My computer is on 2Mb/128kbps BB, and the computer I was using to access was on dial-up. In spite of that, once it established all the settings, navigating the desktop, and accessing email and programmes was a breeze.

I have used LogMeIn to remotely connect to the PCs of clients who use my company's business software so that I can fix their software problems. The software is easy to set up at both ends. LogMeIn is more than just a Remote Desktop Connection; you can configure the access to the remote PC depending upon what you want to do; you could just transfer files between the two PCs, or just access the applications on the remote PC, or go for full control of the PC's desktop.

Mike_C
09-11-2006, 04:31 PM
To those above, thanks for your ideas - most appreciated