PDA

View Full Version : Computer re-booting



Obelix
15-10-2006, 07:37 PM
Heya,

Have been having a problem with my comp for a while now, and need some advice to try and solve the current problem.

Installed new RAM about 3 months ago to try and solve problem, didn't solve it.

Installed new HDD, and re-installed Winblows Home edition SP2, and all updates.

Now 90% of the time when I reboot the computer, it shows the windows start up splash screen, and then reboots again. The next time it gives the various options, and Ichoose last knwon good configuration, and it can still do the same, and reboot.

Anyone got any ideas as to where the problem could lie.

Gigabyte GA 7N 400 Pro 2 Motherboard
AMD 2600
1 GB RAM
250 GB ATA HDD
Windows XP Home all updates

Thanks in advance

Speedy Gonzales
15-10-2006, 07:47 PM
Was SP2 integrated when u installed XP?

Or did u install SP2 after XP was installed?

If the latter, did u scan for spyware BEFORE SP2 was installed?

pctek
15-10-2006, 10:13 PM
Turn off Automatically Restart from Control Panel - System - Advanced - Startup and Recovery - Settings.

Then when it reboots it should stop on a BSOD and you can note the error it gives with which you can work out where the problem is.,

Obelix
16-10-2006, 07:47 AM
Speedy,

It was a clean install of XP, from original CD, and then XP2 was applied, so I cannot see how it could be spyware.

drcspy
16-10-2006, 08:11 AM
will it run ok in safe mode ?

Obelix
16-10-2006, 11:21 AM
Sometimes even going into safe mode, it will continually reboot.

8/10 will go into safe mode okay. Other times it will reboot.

Speedy Gonzales
16-10-2006, 05:24 PM
Well, I would run Event Viewer (control panel / admin tools) and see what it says here when it reboots.

Highlight the error/s press ctrl-c and ctrl-v and post them here

Obelix
16-10-2006, 09:35 PM
Getting more and more confusing. But am leaning towards motherboard.

Reboot errors are normally

PAGE FAULT IN NON PAGED AREA.

But also getting the following now on startup

Secondary IDE Channel No 80 Conductor Cable installed.

Considering all I have on the secondary channel is a DVDRW drive, not sure why this is occuring.

Went to re-install some software and it did not install. Tried it a work and installed fine, so bought a new DVDRW drive, and have installed, now I continually get CRC errors when installing aoftware.

Have even copied software from CD to HDD and get the same problem.

Have replaced IDE Cable still no joy....

Also getting alot of
Remote Access Connection Manager failed to start because the RAS RPC module failed to initialize. The specified procedure could not be found.
in event viewer.

Not sure what is causing this part....

Speedy Gonzales
16-10-2006, 09:44 PM
Getting more and more confusing. But am leaning towards motherboard.

But also getting the following now on startup

Secondary IDE Channel No 80 Conductor Cable installed.

Get an IDE cable with a blue connector on one end, the blue end goes to the connection on the mobo.

Not too sure of the other error. Do a search in google or yahoo.

Is the burner on secondary master or slave? And is it jumpered to master or slave?

Obelix
16-10-2006, 09:49 PM
Seondary Master, and jumpered as master