PDA

View Full Version : New Computer Running Slow



av4tarnz
29-09-2006, 11:17 PM
I bought a new computer couple of months ago and added more RAM to it, bringing it up to 1GB worth, and installed Norton Internet Security before going on the net. Now it seems to be running sluggishly fairly regularly, but Norton gives it a clean bill of health after a scan.
My computer has a Pentium 4 3.06GHz processor (I think it may have dual processors?????????) and is running Windows Media Centre. Anyone have any suggestions for fixing?

Thanks

Av4tarnz

Hitech
29-09-2006, 11:20 PM
Remove nortons its a resource hog.

zqwerty
29-09-2006, 11:43 PM
If you are sure you do not have spyware then this will make a start on speeding up your computer.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/page.php?id=12

There are many more things to do to streamline XP, do a search on the forum.

Also what program do you have running in start up? Look in Task Manager - Processes to see the programs that are running in the background which you may not need.

Renmoo
30-09-2006, 12:19 AM
Hey there, you might want to check out PressF1's FAQ on removing malwares etc. on this page -> http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=Spyware%2C_Adware_%26_Viruses

Meanwhile, follow Hitech's advice and remove Norton Internet Security. Don't forget to find a substitute for it. Besides this, give your HDD a defragment treatment and see if this helps.

Cheers :)

TheRascal
30-09-2006, 12:23 AM
Remove Norton mate, I used to have their anti-virus and my PC certainly ran slower. Ripped it out and installed AVG Free !

The_End_Of_Reality
30-09-2006, 12:32 AM
As the others have said get rid of Nortons.

If it is only a P4 (not D) then it would have hyper threading, not two CPUs, how can you tell?

av4tarnz
30-09-2006, 01:47 AM
The Norton icon doesn't appear in the taskbar after start up, I must have disabled it at some point, I don't rmember. When I run it, it locks up although the Task Manager says it's running.
If I run the restore software on my computer (it's an HP), the extra RAM should be automaticly detected once Windows is restarted right? Haven't done a restore yet, so am a little uncertain.
Damn this new computer, I miss my old one it was reliable. :(

Renmoo
30-09-2006, 01:57 AM
That doesn't mean it is uninstalled even though the icon is not there in the taskbar. Go to Control Panel and select Add / Remove Programs to uninstall it.

Cheers :)

Safari
30-09-2006, 08:18 AM
Proof that Antivirus software makes your PC crawl
http://blogs.zdnet.com/Ou/?p=327&tag=nl.e540

Speedy Gonzales
30-09-2006, 08:27 AM
Hopefully, you're not running Ghost or Spybot, with NIS installed.

Seems Spybot's author (http://www.spybot.info/en/home/index.html) is having a war with Symantec at the mo, and may add it as Malware.

Since, they're not too co-operative.

tweak'e
30-09-2006, 10:59 AM
also have you adjusted the the paging file/swap file/ virtual memory to cater for the increase in ram ?

av4tarnz
01-10-2006, 10:07 AM
tweak'e
I've read about adjusting the page file on the net for fixing another issue I'm having with my computer, although there are differing opinions on how far to go with it, can you offer any suggestions?

No I haven't installed SpyBot, I'm hoping that NIS will do the job for me as I am a bit slack with updating programs myself.

The memory I had added will automaticly be detected if I do a complete system restore right?

Speedy Gonzales
01-10-2006, 10:11 AM
Well as others have said, if NIS is installed, uninstall it and get something that doesnt use up the resources.

tweak'e
01-10-2006, 12:35 PM
tweak'e
I've read about adjusting the page file on the net for fixing another issue I'm having with my computer, although there are differing opinions on how far to go with it, can you offer any suggestions?http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=Virtual_Memory


The memory I had added will automatically be detected if I do a complete system restore right?adding memory as nothing to do with system restore. however adjusting virtual memory settings can be undone by system restore.

stu161204
01-10-2006, 12:48 PM
http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=Virtual_Memory]


Correct url: http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=Virtual_Memory

Greven
01-10-2006, 01:04 PM
Get rid of Norton Internet Security. If you have a NAT router, you can get by with just the standard windows firewall & an antivirus program. AVG is the fastest antivirus, but I prefer Avast myself.