PDA

View Full Version : Apache and router IP



John Tunstall
03-09-2006, 10:37 AM
Hi! I have a problem with using Apache and a router and would be grateful for any advice.
I have an interactive golf booking system that is operated over Internet. The server contains the golf system and Apache. The server is accessed from the outside of the LAN, over Internet, using a static IP address. The introductory screens are accessed without any problem, through the router, from outside. As soon as the booking system is commenced and data -such as a desired tee-off time - is sent to the server the http IP address, which has been up to now the static address, changes to the local router based IP address and the interaction between the customer and the server breaks down.

Anybody got any ideas how this can be resolved?

John

Graham L
03-09-2006, 01:37 PM
You aren't running NAT on the router? That should prevent this problem.

(The Apache configuration file contains a line which sets its IP address; you would probably need to double-home it to be able to access it from both the LAN and the world. That might be possible ... but NAT might be easier and safer.)

vinref
03-09-2006, 04:28 PM
Hi! I have a problem with using Apache and a router and would be grateful for any advice.
I have an interactive golf booking system that is operated over Internet. The server contains the golf system and Apache. The server is accessed from the outside of the LAN, over Internet, using a static IP address. The introductory screens are accessed without any problem, through the router, from outside. As soon as the booking system is commenced and data -such as a desired tee-off time - is sent to the server the http IP address, which has been up to now the static address, changes to the local router based IP address and the interaction between the customer and the server breaks down.

Anybody got any ideas how this can be resolved?

John

So external browsers can see pages OK. If so, then the port forwarding is working. But when they do interactive stuff (such as submitting a form for a tee-off booking), it doesn't work?

What script are you using to make bookings/did you roll your own? Are the bookings done through https or another port that is not 80 (i.e., users must log in first etc).

TGoddard
03-09-2006, 08:10 PM
Better still, can you point us to the IP address so we can see for ourselves how the site is set up?