PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with Toshiba Troubles!

toshiba_troubles
31-08-2006, 05:59 PM
Hi, im very new to this, not really sure if im even doing it right.
But im so angry right now, my toshiba laptop bought about a year and a half ago, keeps crapping out on me.

They had to replace a part for a faulty circuit that wasnt allowing the computer to charge properly (or something hairy fairy like that) and now its started switching off again.

What do i do? Im a student and NEED my computer everyday but it keeps turning off and takes a few hours before it will turn back on!

Its a satellite A70 i think.
Will toshiba replace it fully?
Anyone experienced similar problems, please give me some advise.
THANK YOU! :o

netchicken
31-08-2006, 06:09 PM
You certianly have a right to get it replaced if its an ongoing problem that hasn't been fixed. How you go about it I am not sure, maybe the consumer institute can help.

Graham L
31-08-2006, 06:18 PM
Welcome to PressF1.

You aren't necessarily entitled to a replacement computer. Wishes are free, but the consumer law hasn't got to the point than no manufacturer will sell their goods in NZ. Sorry about that. :(

If you had a charging problem (which was fixed) and have been using the laptop mostly on battery since, you could easily have reached the end of the battery's life.

Battery technology has advanced to the point that LiIon batteries last about 500 charge-discharge cycles. That's about what you could expect from NiCd or NiMH batteries. :D LiIon batteries are lighter. 18 months is regarded as a reasonable and expected battery life. No consumer laws can make batteries better than the technology which exists.

GrahamT
31-08-2006, 06:33 PM
A replacement / spare/backup battery should cost you about $130 - $150. If as you say you NEED the unit every day that should be your first option - its going to be required sooner or later anyway and will give you much more flexibility

gibler
31-08-2006, 06:45 PM