PDA

View Full Version : cpu upgrade



jsully
25-08-2006, 04:29 PM
i have upgraded an old comp which was running socket 7 k6 500mhz processor to a 550mhz processor of the same class when rebooted the system properties only reveals it is still the old 500 mhz chip but is running out 501mhz is the comp running a little faster or do i need to do more to the bios

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2006, 04:50 PM
Depending on what speed the mobo can handle, 500 maybe the max, which is why its still 500 when u changed it. The system may have lowered the speed, since it cant handle 550 mhz.

Do u know what the brand/model of the mobo is?

tweak'e
25-08-2006, 06:40 PM
did you change the jumbers correctly ?

Myth
26-08-2006, 12:14 AM
If your motherboard is anything like the one I threw out a few months ago, you will have a set of jumpers (look like plastic switches) that will control the motherboard. Find the make, model, and revision number (if applicable) of the motherboard; throw that into Google and find a motherboard manual (unless you still have the original motherboard manual). Read that and within it there should be a table showing what the jumpers should be set to. Set the jumpers accordingly