PDA

View Full Version : How to get Home page



gradebdan
24-08-2006, 10:55 PM
Hi
I have changed my ISP and want to change my home page.
I have been to Internet Explorer... Tools...Internet options.. changed my home page, but when I click on Mozilla shortcut on my desktop it still takes me to my old home page. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong please.

tweak'e
24-08-2006, 10:57 PM
change it in Mozilla not Internet Explorer.

superuser
25-08-2006, 10:07 AM
Tools / Options / General

In MOZILLA! :nerd:

gradebdan
25-08-2006, 06:08 PM
When I click on TOOLS I get a dropdown menu of 10 items starting with "Search the web" down to "Switch profile" but no "Options" "General". Any more ideas please.

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2006, 06:14 PM
Change the shortcut to the homepage then.

Obviously it'll go to the old site. Since what u type in the browser and the shortcut, since theyre not the same, it'll load the old page on the shortcut.

gradebdan
25-08-2006, 06:52 PM
I deleted the short cut on the desktop and then went to Mozilla, created a short cut to desktop, when I click on this short cut it still opens my old home page...phew..lost.

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2006, 06:57 PM
When u created the shortcut u did select new / shortcut and type the site u want in didnt u?

Pancake
25-08-2006, 07:00 PM
Using IE bring up the home page you want.Then go to Tools/Internet options/ and click on the "Use Current" tab.Apply and OK

gradebdan
25-08-2006, 07:17 PM
Using IE I get my new home page. I do not want to use IE.I want to use Mozilla........I click on Mozilla, get a drop down menu....send to,,,,desktop(create shortcut)...no mention of 'NEW"

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2006, 07:24 PM
Well u have to make mozilla the default browser then select new/shortcut on the desktop if this is where the shortcut is.

Then type in the website u want it to open.

Then Mozilla should open not IE.

gradebdan
25-08-2006, 07:33 PM
How do I make Mozilla the default browser?

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2006, 07:35 PM
I dont know. Look in the help file or in preferences/options.

I use Opera not Mozilla

gradebdan
25-08-2006, 08:03 PM
How do I make Mozilla the default browser?

sam m
25-08-2006, 08:13 PM
When I click on TOOLS I get a dropdown menu of 10 items starting with "Search the web" down to "Switch profile" but no "Options" "General". Any more ideas please.
This to me is the root of the problem - you need the 'options' ummm... option to make the changes. Strange it does not show under 'tools' What version of mozilla are you using?

FoxyMX
25-08-2006, 08:39 PM
To change your homepage in Mozilla try going to the site you wish to have as your homepage then drag the icon in the addressbar onto the Home icon on the toolbar.

jinja_thom
25-08-2006, 08:47 PM
You could try Preferences on the Edit menu.
Works for me.
JT

gradebdan
25-08-2006, 09:05 PM
Just been d/l the latested version which I think I had anyway (1.7.13).......Did Jinja's tip i.e. edit... preferences. Worked perfectly. Thankyou all for your efforts

TGoddard
25-08-2006, 11:18 PM
First go to the site you want to make your home page. Notice that on the left side of the address bar (the field with http://... in it) there is a small icon. This may be a plain document icon or may be customised for the site (i.e. Google has a Google logo instead). Drag this on to the home button and confirm that you want to change your home page.