PDA

View Full Version : Adobe, TurboCad, Personal stupidity

Thomas01
24-08-2006, 05:57 PM
I must be mad! AT the age of 73 I am trying to learn TurboCad. OK I have 50 years of drafting experience and have used DCWin for ages but I am finding TurboCad extremely difficult to get a grip of. The help desk I find no good for me - but probably brilliant for those who have used the program for years.
The manual is useless (again unless you already know the program).
I have been given an instruction program which is written in ADOBE and seems about my best chance to make progress. It details how to start and complete a drawing of a battery, and is intended as a learning tool for TurboCad. But I find as with many instructions for learners that reasons for certain actions are not given. I would like to add my own notes to the Adobe instructions.
Something like "this is done to make clarity better" etc. Even being able to show just where I had got to would help.
But I have nothing to add these notes - any suggestions please.
Tom

Graham L
24-08-2006, 06:12 PM
I'd be inclined to print the pages you need. Then you can annotate them to your heart's content. ;) Paper is still a very good medium for transmitting information. Adobe Reader lets you print a page at a time, or a range, I often print 2 pages/page.

Thomas01
24-08-2006, 10:21 PM
I'd be inclined to print the pages you need. Then you can annotate them to your heart's content. ;) Paper is still a very good medium for transmitting information. Adobe Reader lets you print a page at a time, or a range, I often print 2 pages/page.

Agreed Graham - But of course I had already considered this as the best method. Trouble is the darn instructions run to 128 pages - that means a lot of pennies when you are on pension.
Tom

Graham L
25-08-2006, 03:27 PM