PDA

View Full Version : ISP Help Needed.



PedalSlammer
20-08-2006, 07:39 PM
Hi,
I recently have problem with my new ihug plan which is 3.5mbps previously on 2.0mbps plan. I did phone up Ihug and complain about my 3.5mbps plan is worst than 2.0mbps. And I can't change it back to 2.0mbps plan now. :mad: And I have to wait until the contract expires which is 3 more months.
Using the System Mechanic speedtest with 2mbps plan is normally 200kbps plus for downloanding 1mb file. Now with 3.5mbps plan, it only can download 150kbps plus for 1mb file.
Here's what Ihug explain to me, "an operator says that my phone line cannot handle 3.5mpbs speed" [I mean that's fine] BUT I did try to explain about why does my new 3.5mbps plan is worst than 2mbps speed. AND he ignore me for that. He says it's telecom fault but there's nothing can be do about it. And I request for changing back to 2mbps plan but he says he can't do anything about it because it is the ihug policy.

:( What can I do about the ihug internet? Any clue? [I'm really frustrating at the moment and don't know what to do because I'm paying $69.95 for 10GB allowance for peak time and 20GB for offpeak[Because my Azureus download speed is so slow which is 10-20kbps normally 30kbps plus(I'm downloading Windows Vista Beta & other some Linux OS at the moment)]. And if I move to another ISP I'll probably get $100.00 charge.] What should I do? I really want to try Vista before buying a new OS for my computer.
Can anyone recommend me a good ISP to change to? At the moment what do you guys think about quick silver?
Thanks,
PedalSlammer.

stu161204
20-08-2006, 07:51 PM
Hello PedalSlammer :)

Where in NZ are you?

How far from the telephone exchange are you?

Have you tested your speed at different speed test sites?, I good one a lot of people use is at http://www.nzdsl.co.nz/module-Speedtest.phtml or http://www.jetstreamgames.co.nz/speed/

Changing ISPís arenít going to help with your speed problem as it sounds like

A. you have a bad phone line or there an issue with the rode side cabinet

B.Your connected to a Bad exchange.

Also have a read of this: http://computerworld.co.nz/news.nsf/news/EC8584D8984D4FACCC2571B600729034

Good luck :)

Fishy
20-08-2006, 08:00 PM
You can get a telecom technician to check the lines but if there is nothing wrong with them you will be charged a $81 callout fee :yuck:

Fishy
20-08-2006, 08:01 PM
EDIT:
CRAP! I double posted by accident...
Can an admin please delete this post.

PedalSlammer
20-08-2006, 08:06 PM
Hello PedalSlammer :)

Where in NZ are you?

How far from the telephone exchange are you?

Have you tested your speed at different speed test sites?, I good one a lot of people use is at http://www.nzdsl.co.nz/module-Speedtest.phtml or http://www.jetstreamgames.co.nz/speed/

Changing ISPís arenít going to help with your speed problem as it sounds like

A. you have a bad phone line or there an issue with the rode side cabinet

B.Your connected to a Bad exchange.

Also have a read of this: http://computerworld.co.nz/news.nsf/news/EC8584D8984D4FACCC2571B600729034

Good luck :)
I live in Birdale/Beach Heaven area. Very close to Birkenhead anyway. In Auckland, North Shore.
Road side cabinet? Who should call the telecom to fix it? Ihug or myself? Because I'm worried that telecom will charge, [One time my ADSL have problem and phone for Telecom to fix it and it cost a few hundred bucks for that]. Bad phone line? It is normally OK with 2mbps plan.
And I've tested your DSL speed test web provided. It is still very slow showing only 1500 download speed.
And about the computer world article, I also notice that the internet speed is always not constant. Thanks for the issue.

PedalSlammer
20-08-2006, 08:09 PM
You can get a telecom technician to check the lines but if there is nothing wrong with them you will be charged a $81 callout fee :yuck:
Thanks I'll try to contact telecom tomorrow. Is it possible that is telecom problem at the moment, since my broadband it performing worst than before this month?

Fidelius
20-08-2006, 09:44 PM
I find it's better to be on the 256k plan. I haven't changed plans yet, but at least on this speed, I get the speed I'm meant to have, and I dont have crappy pings or anything.

stu161204
20-08-2006, 09:49 PM
Thanks I'll try to contact telecom tomorrow. Is it possible that is telecom problem at the moment, since my broadband it performing worst than before this month?

As I said above I bet itís your exchange ;)

Have you restarted your modem/router? & / or have you turned off your modem/router for a couple of hours?

What type of modem/router do you have?

stu161204
21-08-2006, 12:17 AM
Road side cabinet? Who should call the telecom to fix it? Ihug or myself? Because I'm worried that telecom will charge, [One time my ADSL have problem and phone for Telecom to fix it and it cost a few hundred bucks for that].

telecom

PedalSlammer
21-08-2006, 06:09 PM
telecom
Thanks.