PDA

View Full Version : Firefox Mozilla Problem



DeSade
20-08-2006, 04:15 PM
Anyone else having trouble with firefox lately, images not displaying properly, links not working or having a large delay before showing, corrupted downloads etc etc?

kjaada
20-08-2006, 04:25 PM
It is not a FFox problem.I think you had better dig deeper.What Os and hardware are you running and most importantly what was the last thing you were doing before you had a problem

DeSade
20-08-2006, 04:37 PM
--------[ EVEREST Home Edition (c) 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Report Wizard
Computer DESADE
Generator Paul
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2006-08-20
Time 15:33


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name DESADE
User Name Paul

Motherboard:
CPU Type DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2, 2000 MHz (10 x 200) 3800+
Motherboard Name Asus A8N-SLI (3 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 2 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN)
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce4 SLI, AMD Hammer
System Memory 1024 MB (PC4000 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (10/21/05)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT (256 MB)
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT (256 MB)
Monitor ViewSonic VX922 [NoDB] (PXU061437820)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Creative SB0350 Audigy 2 ZS Sound Card

Storage:
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce4 Parallel ATA Controller
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce4 Serial ATA Controller
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce4 Serial ATA Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive ST3200822AS (200 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA)
Optical Drive ASUS CD-S520/A (52x CD-ROM)
Optical Drive DVDRW IDE1008 (DVD+RW:8x/4x, DVD-RW:4x/2x, DVD-ROM:12x, CD:40x/24x/40x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 20002 MB (3837 MB free)
F: (NTFS) 170769 MB (117639 MB free)
Total Size 186.3 GB (118.6 GB free)

Input:
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Mouse Logitech HID-compliant Cordless Mouse

Network:
Network Adapter NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport (192.168.1.12)

Peripherals:
Printer Canon S200SP
USB1 Controller nVIDIA MCP04 - OHCI USB Controller
USB2 Controller nVIDIA MCP04 - EHCI USB 2.0 Controller
USB Device Generic USB Hub
USB Device Generic USB Hub
USB Device Logitech Cordless USB Mouse
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Printing Support


as for what I was doing, no idea
this problem started slowly and now its quite bad.

kjaada
20-08-2006, 04:45 PM
I think you should run http://www.download.com/HijackThis/3000-8022_4-10227353.html
and post the log you get so someone on the forum can view it and advise you.

Myth
20-08-2006, 04:45 PM
How do you connect to the Net? I would be looking at a faulty modem/router, or NIC. Do you get the same problems with IE or any other alternative browser?

DeSade
20-08-2006, 04:51 PM
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 3:47:52 p.m., on 20/08/2006
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTsvcCDA.exe
C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\Apache Group\Apache2\bin\apache.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin\nSvcLog.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\Apache Group\Apache2\bin\apache.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\MsPMSPSv.exe
C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin\nSvcAppFlt.ex e
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2ZS\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2ZS\DVDAudio\CTDVDDet.EXE
C:\Program Files\Logitech\G-series Software\LGDCore.exe
C:\Program Files\Logitech\G-series Software\LCDMon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\Logitech\G-series Software\Applets\LCDMedia.exe
C:\Program Files\Logitech\G-series Software\Applets\LCDClock.exe
C:\WINDOWS\CTHELPER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Sony\SONICS~1\SsAAD.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\RemoteControl\RCMan.EXE
C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\KEM.exe
C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\KHALMNPR.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\WINWORD.EXE
C:\Documents and Settings\Paul\My Documents\My Downloads\virus\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Hardware Abstraction Layer] KHALMNPR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTSysVol] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2ZS\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTDVDDET] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2ZS\DVDAudio\CTDVDDet.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SBDrvDet] C:\Program Files\Creative\SB Drive Det\SBDrvDet.exe /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Launch LGDCore] "C:\Program Files\Logitech\G-series Software\LGDCore.exe" /SHOWHIDE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Launch LCDMon] "C:\Program Files\Logitech\G-series Software\LCDMon.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTHelper] CTHELPER.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SsAAD.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\Sony\SONICS~1\SsAAD.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [RemoteCenter] C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\RemoteControl\RCMan.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Steam] C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\\Steam.exe -silent
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Reader Speed Launch.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Free WebSite Tools.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: Logitech SetPoint.lnk = C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\KEM.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvappfilter.dll
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{5DAB0C8C-E7C4-4BD5-BC0B-FC3583E9F88B}: NameServer = 202.27.158.40,202.27.156.72
O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - "C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\msgrapp.dll" (file missing)
O21 - SSODL: WPDShServiceObj - {AAA288BA-9A4C-45B0-95D7-94D524869DB5} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\WPDShServiceObj.dll
O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Creative Service for CDROM Access - Creative Technology Ltd - C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTsvcCDA.exe
O23 - Service: ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin\nSvcAppFlt.ex e
O23 - Service: Forceware Web Interface (ForcewareWebInterface) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\Apache Group\Apache2\bin\apache.exe" -k runservice (file missing)
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: Imapi Helper - Alex Feinman - C:\Program Files\Alex Feinman\ISO Recorder\ImapiHelper.exe
O23 - Service: MSCSPTISRV - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\MSCSPTISRV.exe
O23 - Service: ForceWare user log service (nSvcLog) - NVIDIA - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin\nSvcLog.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: PACSPTISVR - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\PACSPTISVR.exe
O23 - Service: Sony SPTI Service (SPTISRV) - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\SPTISRV.exe
O23 - Service: SonicStage SCSI Service (SSScsiSV) - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\SSScsiSV.exe

kjaada
20-08-2006, 05:14 PM
010 is a funny one as it appears so many times and Speedy's diagnosis says
do not attempt to fix ???
and 017 is a possible nasty depending on yr isp
you will need an expert to comment on these Speedy or
Pancake will no doubt look at some stage and advise.

DeSade
20-08-2006, 05:22 PM
How do you connect to the Net? I would be looking at a faulty modem/router, or NIC. Do you get the same problems with IE or any other alternative browser?

Xtra DSL
IE seems fine most of the time but the problems to crop up occasionally, trouble is I hate IE


010 is a funny one as it appears so many times and Speedy's diagnosis says
do not attempt to fix ???
and 017 is a possible nasty depending on yr isp
you will need an expert to comment on these Speedy or
Pancake will no doubt look at some stage and advise.

ISP is Xtra

The_End_Of_Reality
20-08-2006, 05:30 PM
The log is fine, there is nothing nasty in it.

O17 entry is the Xtra DNS addresses.

O10 entry belongs to nVidia, I am not sure what program though... but do not do anything to these.

The log is fine, nothing needs fixing that I can see

DeSade
20-08-2006, 05:33 PM
Then back to my original question

Anyone know whats causing the FF problems?

The_End_Of_Reality
20-08-2006, 05:37 PM
Have you got the latest version of FF?

Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling?

Tried other web browsers? (even though you hate IE, try it if you still have the same problem then you know it is not FF...)

DeSade
20-08-2006, 05:46 PM
Have you got the latest version of FF?

Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling?

Tried other web browsers? (even though you hate IE, try it if you still have the same problem then you know it is not FF...)

I believe I have the latest 1.5
un and reinstalled 6 times

Tried IE and its difficult to tell, IE "sometimes" has the problem but that might just be IE, its so sporadic, FF its constant.

The_End_Of_Reality
20-08-2006, 05:49 PM
Hmm, might be something to do with your net connection then...

I am out of suggestions :(

silvero
20-08-2006, 06:27 PM
When you reinstalled Firefox, did you delete your profile? If not, all settings, extensions and everything will remain the same.

Try uninstalling Firefox, then navigate to:
C:\Documents and Settings\*your username*\Application Data\Mozilla\

Delete (or move) the whole Firefox directory, then reinstall Firefox and see if there is any change.

If this doesn't help, post a specific example of a bad web page - the url and exactly what happens when you try to load it.

DeSade
20-08-2006, 06:37 PM
When you reinstalled Firefox, did you delete your profile? If not, all settings, extensions and everything will remain the same.

Try uninstalling Firefox, then navigate to:
C:\Documents and Settings\*your username*\Application Data\Mozilla\

Delete (or move) the whole Firefox directory, then reinstall Firefox and see if there is any change.

If this doesn't help, post a specific example of a bad web page - the url and exactly what happens when you try to load it.

Yes I did delete my profile all of the times I tried to reinstall.

example

www.trademe.co.nz

I have this open and leave it open to track buying and selling, very often I will click a link on the site and the progress bar stays blank the link does not load, I actually left this over night looked the next morning and the link I clicked was still trying to load.
Only way to fix it is to click other links on the site till one of them works then go back to the one I wanted.

Corrupted graphics, the colors are all messed up and some parts of the pic are out of alignment.
for instance
this pic ==============================

might come out like this

===============
============
========

and corrupted downloads, either not working at all, or with video and media player, this file is corrupted messages.

silvero
20-08-2006, 06:52 PM
OK you can try this:

- go to Services (right-click my computer and select manage, expand services and applications and select services)
- Go down the list to ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM), right-click and select stop
- Same for Forceware Web Interface (ForcewareWebInterface) although this one probably is not running so you won't be able to

Speedy Gonzales
20-08-2006, 06:59 PM
Those 010 entries should be ok. I think this has something to with the Armour firewall which is part of the mobo.

I wouldnt be surprised if Nvidia firewall is giving u probs if this is installed as well.

These arent nasty but dont have to run on startup.

Run HJT again do another scan, tick these entries and tick fix checked.

Unzip HJT first then run it.

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"

I would also install a firewall.

DeSade
20-08-2006, 07:04 PM
OK you can try this:

- go to Services (right-click my computer and select manage, expand services and applications and select services)
- Go down the list to ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM), right-click and select stop
- Same for Forceware Web Interface (ForcewareWebInterface) although this one probably is not running so you won't be able to

Both are running and both have been stopped.

Do I need to restart for these to take affect as I checked trademe and it has not fixed the problem

DeSade
20-08-2006, 07:07 PM
Those 010 entries should be ok. I think this has something to with the Armour firewall which is part of the mobo.

I wouldnt be surprised if Nvidia firewall is giving u probs if this is installed as well.

These arent nasty but dont have to run on startup.

Run HJT again do another scan, tick these entries and tick fix checked.

Unzip HJT first then run it.

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"

I would also install a firewall.

Done
I turned off the nvidia firewall because it was causing download problems, as for a firewall, I am vigiliant with my computer as my HJT shows, nothing gets through, regular scans, maintainance and checks. If this was a virus problem I would have fixed it months ago.

Speedy Gonzales
20-08-2006, 07:10 PM
Done
I turned off the nvidia firewall because it was causing download problems, as for a firewall, I am vigiliant with my computer as my HJT shows, nothing gets through, regular scans, maintainance and checks. If this was a virus problem I would have fixed it months ago.

Uninstall Nvidia firewall it does nothing but corrupt downloaded files.

And install some kind of firewall. Even if you think you're safe without a firewall, you maybe wrong later on .

I wouldnt be surprised Nvidia firewall is screwing up FF. Even if its off /disabled.

DeSade
20-08-2006, 07:14 PM
Uninstall Nvidia firewall it does nothing but corrupt downloaded files.

And install some kind of firewall. Even if you think you're safe without a firewall, you maybe wrong later on .

I wouldnt be surprised Nvidia firewall is screwing up FF. Even if its off /disabled.

I think I already have uninstalled it
can you help me locate it tell me where to check or what to look for in the registry to make sure its gone

silvero
20-08-2006, 07:22 PM
If you uninstall, reboot and run hijackthis again it will show the services entries and startup entries - if they are gone it shouldn't run

Speedy Gonzales
20-08-2006, 07:28 PM
I think I already have uninstalled it
can you help me locate it tell me where to check or what to look for in the registry to make sure its gone

I dont know. I dont have a mobo that uses Nvidia firewall.

Get ccleaner (http://www.ccleaner.com) if u haven't got it yet.

Delete the Nvidia firewall folder in program files, if its there. And under documents and settings,.. You may have to show all files to see some of these folders.

Then run ccleaner, click on issues and click on scan for issues. Whatever comes up remove it.

Make sure u dont delete the Nvidia folder for the video drivers, if you use a Nvidia videocard, which by the looks of it u do.

silvero
20-08-2006, 10:13 PM
To clarify about the uninstall, if the three services have been removed:
- ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM)
- Forceware Web Interface (ForcewareWebInterface)
- ForceWare user log service (nSvcLog)
and the Winsock LSPs (nvappfilter.dll) then it should be stopped.

You could delete the program files, but that won't stop these services from trying to start, and it won't affect the LSPs, all of which will affect your connectivity.

If you have uninstalled but have only the LSPs left over you can use LSP-Fix (http://cexx.org/lspfix.htm) to remove them.

DeSade
20-08-2006, 10:33 PM
To clarify about the uninstall, if the three services have been removed:
- ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM)
- Forceware Web Interface (ForcewareWebInterface)
- ForceWare user log service (nSvcLog)
and the Winsock LSPs (nvappfilter.dll) then it should be stopped.

You could delete the program files, but that won't stop these services from trying to start, and it won't affect the LSPs, all of which will affect your connectivity.

If you have uninstalled but have only the LSPs left over you can use LSP-Fix (http://cexx.org/lspfix.htm) to remove them.

I have stopped all 3 of the services
not sure where to find the winsock LSP's you never mentioned those in your first post.

silvero
20-08-2006, 10:48 PM
The LSPs are displayed as O10 entries in the Hijackthis log, you could use Hijackthis to remove them but there have been cases where that results in a loss of connectivity, the LSP-Fix program is a better bet.

The services will need to have the 'startup type' set to manual or (better) disabled to ensure they don't start by themselves.

The main concern about manually uninstalling is a possible loss of connectivity, which would be a hassle. I'd suggest you have a copy of the motherboard/NIC drivers around just in case you need to reinstall the driver, and double-check what your network settings should be.

After the services are disabled and the LSPs have been removed, reboot and try hijackthis again, and of course see if your connectivity has improved.

DeSade
20-08-2006, 11:18 PM
Can I fix this just by running LSP fix or do I need to do that manual thing?

silvero
20-08-2006, 11:34 PM
When I referred to 'manual uninstall', I mean disabling services and removing program components like LSP's manually, as opposed to an automatic uninstall like when you use Add/Remove Programs to remove a program.

BTW, if there is an Add/Remove Programs entry for this program then I suggest you use it, and then use LSP-Fix to make sure the LSPs have been removed properly.

If there is no entry, then I suggest you set the 'startup type' of the relevant services to disable, and then run LSP-Fix to remove the LSPs. After rebooting your computer will still have the program files, but they should be inactive so you can see if things are better as a result. If the problem is resolved, then you can delete the program files and dll's if you want, or just leave them.

DeSade
20-08-2006, 11:42 PM
If there is no entry, then I suggest you set the 'startup type' of the relevant services to disable, and then run LSP-Fix to remove the LSPs. After rebooting your computer will still have the program files, but they should be inactive so you can see if things are better as a result. If the problem is resolved, then you can delete the program files and dll's if you want, or just leave them.

Is this in that
my computer/
manage/
services
etc

area too?

silvero
20-08-2006, 11:50 PM
Yes, right-click My Computer, select Manage, expand Services and Applications, select Services, go to the right-hand panel, go down the list to each of these services:

- ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM)
- Forceware Web Interface (ForcewareWebInterface)
- ForceWare user log service (nSvcLog)

For each of these, right click the service name, select properties, look on the sheet for Startup Type and use the dropdown to select disabled

Then, download and run LSP-Fix, have a read of LSP-Fix.txt (http://cexx.org/lspfix.txt) too, move the NVIDIA entries into the remove panel and press finish. That will complete the process.

DeSade
21-08-2006, 12:01 AM
This is all I have in LSP Fix

mswsock.dll
winrnr.dll
nvappfilter.dll
rsvpsp.dll

no problems found with the fix

silvero
21-08-2006, 12:11 AM
OK nvappfilter.dll is the one to remove, but as it found no problem and this is not reversible, we can try the auto uninstall first:

- open a command prompt by pressing start->run and type cmd OK
- type this: nvudisp.exe UninstallGUI <enter>
- This should bring up the uninstall options for the NVIDIA chipset software, if the firewall is on it, then uninstall it

DeSade
21-08-2006, 12:16 AM
Its not there.

silvero
21-08-2006, 12:29 AM
OK your choice:

Run LSP-Fix, check the 'i know what i'm doing' box, move the nvappfilter.dll entry into the 'remove' area and press finish. This will remove the NVIDIA LSP, and after a reboot the firewall should not be running.

This is what I recommend and I would do, but it is not reversible, and if there is a problem it may well mean not being able to go online. The resolution would be to reinstall the motherboard drivers. If you don't have them for any reason then please get them first.

The next best and slightly safer alternative is trying to use the program to deactivate itself, I have had a look through the manual and it isn't too helpful about uninstalling, I would reinstall over the top and see if you can *not* activate/install the firewall, see if that works.

DeSade
21-08-2006, 09:14 PM
nvappfilter.dll

I am a bit worried about removing this as my ethernet is also Nvidia.

silvero
21-08-2006, 10:01 PM
You are quite correct, this dll is gets involved with all your Ethernet communications, and removing it manually by using LSP-Fix may resolve your problem, or cause a loss of connectivity.

There are plenty of people with the same problem as you, and a number of them have had blue screens and Windows reinstalls to repair, so you are right to be wary.

If you are worried about it and don't wish to risk this problem, another approach would be to reinstall the motherboard software, and when it asks if you wish to install the firewall, say no. This may result in the firewall software being deactivated.

Also, check Add/Remove Programs for 'NVIDIA Network Access Manager' - if it's in there, remove it - it's another name for the firewall.

DeSade
21-08-2006, 10:32 PM
NVIDIA Network Access Manager

I did find this and removed it, it also removed the Nvidia LSP

I think we might have some progress here, will let you know :D