PDA

View Full Version : Acorn OS



03-01-2001, 04:27 PM
I have an Old 486 Acorn with the Acorn OS running. I have loaded Windows 95 on to it but when I boot up the copmuter the Acorn OS comes up and I have to open windows from that. Is there any way in which I can bypass the acorn OS and go directly into windows or better yet delete the acorn os (i heard this is impossible as it is stored on a chip.

Thanks

02-03-2001, 06:23 PM

02-03-2001, 06:29 PM
Your machine sounds like a RiscPC. All RiscPCs (1994-present) have 2 processor slots, one for the host ARM or StrongARM cpu, the other for an optional 486 or 586 cpu.

The OS is on ROM chips and thus cannot be deleted or corrupted (quite handy really :-).

If you really want to run windows, why not buy a cheap PC?
I'd personally want to run RISC OS (the Acorn OS).
RISC OS4 (1999) is great!