PDA

View Full Version : Has Linux stuffed my ext HD?

Shortcircuit
05-08-2006, 09:57 AM
The continuing Linux saga... sigh.

When I installed SuSE linux and plugged my external usb HD in the HD would show up on Linux as 5 or 6 separate usb devices.

I swear all I did was LOOK at the device/s in the Linux media window, but when I plug the HD into my shiny new XP system it shows as a single removable E drive and I get the error; 'The drive is not formatted, do you want to format the drive?'

If I click on format the drive shows as there being 8gig to format when the actual drive is 80gig.

Of course I do have stuff on the HD that I want to keep (it's called back-ups), so I would like to get my back-ups back.

What's likely to happen if I go ahead and format the 8gig... will the rest of my back-up files be lost forever?

Go Linux... you'll never look back :thumbs:

FoxyMX
05-08-2006, 10:10 AM
I'm no Linux expert by a long shot nor do I have an external USB hard drive but once when I left my USB pen drive plugged in whilst booting up Linux the darn thing somehow got wiped. I had to actually reformat it in Windows before it could be used again. :(

Hope you haven't got the same problem..... :waughh:

Can you still see the HD's contents in Linux? I wouldn't go formatting anything just yet...

Shortcircuit
05-08-2006, 10:16 AM
Foxy,

The drive shows up in Linux as 1x 8.0gig, plus about 5 others of more or less 2.0-5.0gigs each.

Of course I didn't have it plugged in when I originally installed SuSe, but thinking back I may have left it plugged in once when I shut down the comp and rebooted (as I would in Windows).

It's not looking good :(

PS I'm no Linux expert either :p

The_End_Of_Reality
05-08-2006, 10:18 AM
Have you tried using a partition reader to see if you can still read the files on it without using Windows?

Paragon Partition Manager (http://www.partition-manager.com/) is a good version of this, it can read all filesystems, free demo, worth a try :thumbs: