PDA

View Full Version : security flaw found in xtra's 502T broadband modem!



lance4k
03-08-2006, 01:01 PM
I received a letter from xtra saying their is a security flaw in their 502T broadband modem. It says I have to go here:

xtra.co.nz/502Tupgrade

I can download the firmware upgrade instructions ok, but I can't download the firmware because the URL button for the firmware download doesn't work. Does it work 4 u?

roddy_boy
03-08-2006, 01:10 PM
Yeah works ok for me.

http://ads.xtra.co.nz/event.ng/Type=click&FlightID=11257&AdID=16163&TargetID=388&Redirect=http://xtra.co.nz/homepage2/staticImages/help/bin/502tupgrade.bin
Is the link for direct download. I can't see the button, it gets adblocked :D

pctek
03-08-2006, 01:28 PM
I received a letter from xtra saying their is a security flaw in their 502T broadband modem. It says I have to go here:

xtra.co.nz/502Tupgrade

Hah! Bet its more like a bug fix. Considering the hassles I've had with this model recently.
And considering all the forums I read with recommendations to do a firmware upgrade to fix the bugs.

lance4k
03-08-2006, 01:30 PM
Found the direct link for th firmware download:

http://xtra.co.nz/homepage2/staticImages/help/bin/502tupgrade.bin


I've had no problems with the modem. it's just a security fix.

linw
03-08-2006, 02:54 PM
Thanks for the headsup. I bought mine from Cash Converters a while ago for $30 and it is performing flawlessly! Will now upgrade it.

lance4k
03-08-2006, 04:17 PM
just upgrading my modem with the new firmware. it works.



hey once u've upgrading ur modem with the firmware,Can i move the FIRMWARE file i downloading into another folder on my computer because i downloaded it to my desktop but i don't what it there anymore.

Nermal
03-08-2006, 04:38 PM
Assuming that this modem works like most of them, you can safely delete the file once you've installed it.

pctek
03-08-2006, 06:08 PM
Found the direct link for th firmware download:

http://xtra.co.nz/homepage2/staticImages/help/bin/502tupgrade.bin


I've had no problems with the modem. it's just a security fix.
I've had no major hassles with them using Ethernet but USB is a whole nother story....

E|im
03-08-2006, 08:10 PM
That's what you get for using D-Link.

Myth
03-08-2006, 08:37 PM
That's what you get for using D-Link.Nothing wrong with my router. My only (minor)
complaint is no upnp (but then if I went looking for firmware upgrade I could probably fix that).