PDA

View Full Version : Need you pro opinions on graphics card



Fishy
27-07-2006, 08:32 PM
I've decided all the other stuff to get to build a new computer but graphics cards are really confusing. I'm on a bit of a budget and these 2 cards look ok to me (basically because they both say 256mb not 128mb) Which one is best/is there a better one for same price?

ASUS Extreme N6600LE (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?104979)

Galaxy nVidia GeForce 6600 (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?104760)

SolMiester
27-07-2006, 09:35 PM
Hi, either there, but really, however for that price, i would get...
http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?105739

:2cents:

mejobloggs
27-07-2006, 10:07 PM
Hmm, why not a 6600GT ?

SolMiester
27-07-2006, 11:36 PM
$30 more for next generation card that would wipe the floor with the 66GT, let alone the vanilla chip!

pctek
28-07-2006, 09:04 AM
Neither. Read this:

http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=How_to_choose_a_graphics_card

mejobloggs
28-07-2006, 10:01 AM
SolMiester, that 7300GT looks great! I have never heard of that before.

faqf1 graphics card guide quote

SecondHand anything less than an NVIDIA 6600GT is probably not worth bothering with if you are serious about gaming, or an ATI 6800GT.Good to see ATI now making NVIDIA products ;)

pctek
28-07-2006, 01:34 PM
SolMiester, that 7300GT looks great! I have never heard of that before.

faqf1 graphics card guide quote
Good to see ATI now making NVIDIA products ;)
OR its says. OR.

SolMiester
28-07-2006, 02:49 PM
OR its says. OR.

Or an ATI 6800GT?.......since when?...LOL

pctek
28-07-2006, 08:24 PM
Or an ATI 6800GT?.......since when?...LOL
So you disagree - feel free to edit the FAQ.

mejobloggs
29-07-2006, 12:37 AM
Course we disagree! But editing it is so bothersome. I assume I have to login?

Fishy
29-07-2006, 10:23 AM
Hmm, why not a 6600GT ?

because that is $100 more expensive and for me that is alot of money.


Neither. Read this:

http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=How_to_choose_a_graphics_card

link is dead

mejobloggs
29-07-2006, 01:35 PM
* nm this post, i made a mistake and so it was completely meaningless

pctek
29-07-2006, 03:10 PM
because that is $100 more expensive and for me that is alot of money.



link is dead
Keep saving then. No use buying a pushbike to race at Pukekohe.

And the link is not dead.

Fishy
29-07-2006, 06:29 PM
ok ill save up then :)
and the link is ok now but it wouldnt work before :confused:

motorbyclist
30-07-2006, 01:44 AM
ok ill save up then :)
and the link is ok now but it wouldnt work before :confused:

i had (still have) the same issue of building a system on a buget where $100 is a big number. my advice: save up and watch the prices drop (and the game requirements rise)

i got an asus 6600gt 128mb, i chose not to go 256mb as all the clock speeds were lower, and everyone was out of stock at the time lol
i paid $240, a week later the price dropped to $220. i was not impressed ($20 is two tanks/3 weeks of gas for me, and a noteable chunk of my full-time-student budget

the card does beautifully, and runs farcry at max settings

EDIT: And DO NOT go budget on your motherboard as i have found, or atleast dont buy an ecs one lol (namely the one which combines pci-e with skt 754)

Fishy
30-07-2006, 11:41 AM
Thankyou, it's good to hear from someone that was/is in the same situation i am, because everyone else says "buy this part" and to hell with how much it costs :annoyed:
The motherboard i've decided on is ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?104253)
What do you think?

motorbyclist
30-07-2006, 11:56 AM
i'd go with that, hell i might even buy that

my friends and i find that asus, gigabyte, and msi all make good products.
i built my little bro's rig with an asrock/asustek (cant remember) and that works fine too.
i built mine using ecs (elitegroup), this normally may not have been an issue, ignoring that the drivers supplied didnt work, but i bought a cheap one which incorporated skt 754 with pcie, which clearly is not a wise move if you want stability while gaming. (either that or my video card is incompatible with the motherboard, but ecs wont say)

so what parts are you buying for the whole rig? price?

PS: if you havent already, check out www.pricespy.co.nz (http://www.pricespy.co.nz)

Fishy
30-07-2006, 12:01 PM
The whole rig is as follows

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Socket 939 CPU (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?102214)

ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 mobo (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?104253)

Seagate 160GB 7200RPM SATA II HDD (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?104570)

Samsung SH-S162A 16X DVD-R/+R (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?104471)

ATX P4 Midi Tower 400w PSU (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?103302)

Gigabyte nVidia Geforce 6600GT (http://www.qmb.co.nz/p.aspx?105101)

And my uncle is giving me 512mb of ram :D

Which comes to a grand total of: $852.78

But i will probably buy some parts from different places to save $$ so maybe get it down to $750

motorbyclist
30-07-2006, 12:15 PM
LOL i have the exact same case, but black with different side panel (two fan holes)

that looks good, but if you are serious about gaming, get another 512mb of ram to bring it up to a gig, and seeing as you can, try to to it in dual channel. it does make a difference.

that looks very good for the price infact, but only because you havent bought a seperate psu and any ram.

do you know any specs on the psu? i'm concerned it may not have the power required to run a 3500+..... you will need atleast 18A on the +12v rail, i'd recommend 20A (thats what i use for my 3000+, and i think it runs my mate's 3700+, but he might be on 22A)

i would hate to hear it doesnt work due to power

(also, those cases can flex a little, mine has a nice rocking motion to it lol. seriously, can be an issue while in transit and the motherboard gets a nice crack diagonally across it - actually happened to friend, on another occasion his cpu fan came off on a speed bump, took the cpu with it, and the socket never worked again.)

Fishy
30-07-2006, 12:31 PM
by 20A i am assuming you mean amps??
And i might look into the extra ram although i may buy it after i have bought the other parts.
And im not going to be moving the computer much (if at all) so that case should be fine.
I will look into the PSU specs.
Have you got one you recommend?

motorbyclist
30-07-2006, 12:46 PM
my one lol ;) raidmax rx520
my mate has one where you can unplug cables from the psu when you dont need them, to save clutter and improve airflow, speaking of which i've seen my 6600gt get up to 80 degrees! and thats with a case side fan pouring straight onto it! ive got two spare fans lying around, one blue, one multicolour, just i lost the screws! (actually, the screws never arrived and the seller claims he's sent them 3 times now, sounds like BS to me.... :mad: )

yes i mean amps, the current, or the rate of flow of charge

so i'm looking on pricespy (http://www.pricespy.co.nz)....

cpu, can only get a few bucks cheaper
motherboard, however, well, see http://www.pricespy.co.nz/pno_6829.html
hardrive looks good, just check if sata2 is compatible with sata1 (i dont know myself)
6600gt can be found much cheaper, see http://www.pricespy.co.nz/pno_5790.html

i hope this helps!

Fishy
30-07-2006, 12:52 PM
I sumbmitted a question about the PSU and im just waiting for a response now.
I know i can save $$ on the parts i just give out those links because ti has alot of info about the specs and stuff so i can ask people if they are good or not (e.g. you :thumbs: )
I checked ages ago and yes SATA II is compatible with SATA I slots it just boosts up the speed :D
And with your 6600gt getting up to 80 degrees, are you overclocking it?

motorbyclist
30-07-2006, 02:27 PM
And with your 6600gt getting up to 80 degrees, are you overclocking it?

no, i cant afford to replace it, they are apperntly just very hot cards. GPUs can take more heat than CPUs btw, the gpu safety shutoff is default set to like 134 degrees and i cannot change it, my cpu is set to 70 i think