PDA

View Full Version : Girl without a clue needs help

blue girl
27-07-2006, 05:14 PM
I so need help!!!! Want to buy a new laptop, know nothing about all those funny numbers and thingey me jigs. Even went into computer store and the guy there just kept spitting out numbers. I don't need numbers I need helppppp!!!

I'm a post-grad university student. Basically the only thing I do with my laptop, is sit on my bed with it on my lap and write a long thesis documentey thing on Microsoft Word. And although I want a lightweight computer, as I do heeeaps of typing, the keys need to be OK to type with.
(so criteria 1: Don't want a computer that will burn my thighs ;) )
(and criteria 2: It will need to have Microsoft Word, and preferably compatable with my old essay Microsoft files on version 98)

I occasionally want to paste in a jpg. The thesaurus / dictionary thing is useful for me if it has that and definitely a spell-checker.

Then I walk to uni with my laptop, home, to the bar with my girlfriends.
(so criteria 3: Can't be really really heavy. My current laptop is killing my shoulder as it is so heavy :eek: )

I'd also love to be able to use the internet from my computer.

I've got up to $1,000 to spend on a second-hand laptop. But can push it up a bit more, depending...

So if anyone has any good ideas????

Any help so appreciated!

Would the Dell X200 be ok, as I saw one of those and it is meant to be quite small????

pcuser42
27-07-2006, 06:02 PM
Correction: You DO want a computer that can burn things, as it will burn (or write to) CD and/or DVD.

TGoddard
27-07-2006, 06:13 PM