PDA

View Full Version : XP Booting Problem



Phil B
24-07-2006, 10:01 PM
I've just replaced the ram, it was 256meg ddr266 & is now 512meg ddr400. I replaced it as one of the ram sticks died a few months ago & it was struggling on 256meg. The problem is it won't boot to the desktop with icons, it displays the wallpaper & thats it. I tried it with the old ram stick & it's the same. Tried the fixboot in rescue, no good.

Any ideas ?

zqwerty
24-07-2006, 10:17 PM
Right click desktop/Arrange Icons by/tick show desktop icons.

Phil B
24-07-2006, 10:37 PM
There's nothing on the desktop apart from wallpaper. Mouse pointer but no function apart from movement

zqwerty
24-07-2006, 10:47 PM
You have updated the bios wrt amount of ram, presumably? Was it working besides being slow before you changed the ram?

zqwerty
24-07-2006, 11:02 PM
ctrl+alt+del/task manager - is explorer.exe running?

Phil B
24-07-2006, 11:05 PM
the bios updated itself ok. It worked alright before I changed the ram

Explorer.exe isn't running & I can't start it

FoxyMX
24-07-2006, 11:09 PM
I replaced it as one of the ram sticks died a few months ago & it was struggling on 256meg.
So do you still have one old RAM stick in as well as the new one? If so, remove the old one and see what happens.

zqwerty
24-07-2006, 11:10 PM
Have you tried:Windows Task Manager/Applications/ New Task.

Have you tried a System Restore?

Try FoxMX instructions first.

Phil B
24-07-2006, 11:21 PM
Only the the new ramstick installed.

I can't run system restore & have tried the new task.

When I boot into safe mode I get a black screen with text in the corners & along the top + a mouse pointer. I can access it from another computer on the network but can't get to the files I really want to keep

FoxyMX
24-07-2006, 11:27 PM
The new stick appears to be either faulty or not compatible. If you have files you need to backup can you not replace the new RAM with the old stick of RAM for now to get the files?

zqwerty
24-07-2006, 11:32 PM
Think the old stick has already been tried.

If all else fails and there are no other better suggestions you could try this but I am not sure if you will have to d/l the updates/hotfixes etc from MS!!!!

http://www.informationweek.com/story/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=189400897

Phil B
24-07-2006, 11:43 PM
Thanks for trying, I've got p'd off with it & going to bed. Have another go tomorrow maybe

FoxyMX
25-07-2006, 10:27 AM
You could try a live Linux distro to grab the files. See the following FAQs if you need more info:

What is a LiveCD (http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=What_is_Linux#What_is_a_LiveCD).

Where can I get Linux from (http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=Where_can_I_get_Linux_from).

They are always useful to have handy.