PDA

View Full Version : Slave drive only showing 1/2 capacity help!



Joe_Halt
13-07-2006, 08:29 AM
I installed a 80gb western digital slave hard drive and it is a couple of years old and was running windows 98. I formatted it and installed it on my newer computer that is running Windows XP. It recognizes it ok but is only showing like 38 or 39 gigs. I know it has something to do with how it was partitioned for the older computer. How can I fix this? Thanks in advance.

pctek
13-07-2006, 09:22 AM
Did you have it partitioned into more than one partition?
Right click MyComputer and choose Manage.
Select Disk Management. Look at the 2nd drive - it should show you if there is more than 1 partition or not.

snoopy
13-07-2006, 09:23 AM
In XP, you can use the Disk Management tool

http://www.informationweek.com/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=180207718