PDA

View Full Version : cpu



jjsc
08-07-2006, 08:27 PM
I am looking to put another cpu into my machine i have a 2.53 pentium 478 socket
am looking to put in a 3.0 478 socket do i have to upgrade or do anything with the Bios
Any help would be very much appreciated

Thanks
Jim

Greg
08-07-2006, 10:04 PM
Just advise your motherboard make and model and we'll be able to help.

Speedy Gonzales
08-07-2006, 10:32 PM
Just make sure, if u get a 3.0 ghz, you get the right CPU.

Since, u can get 533 and 800 fsb CPU's.

And if u get a 800 fsb CPU and the mobo only supports 533 fsb it may not work.

Vistra
09-07-2006, 01:35 AM
Hi jjsc.

We did an upgrade like this with no problems. Just make sure the CPU socket is the same.

If you are upgrading from a 2.5 to a 3.0 on the 478 socket, you probably wont feel a big difference.

What I recommend is maybe upgrading your motherboard to a Socket LGA775 as well as getting a new socket LGA775 CPU.

If not, you should not have any problems with your upgrade, but just to be safe, your motherboard specifications would be ideal.

(I hope you know if your motherboard's FSB is 533Mhz, your new cpu will run at that speed, even though it may be 800mhz).

jjsc
09-07-2006, 01:58 PM
The motherboard is a MS-6577 v3.1 (Neon)
its only 400/533
the board that the 3.0 came out of is a P4SO-LA

Thanks
Jim