PDA

View Full Version : Broadband goes unactive



polo
05-07-2006, 05:51 AM
I am on xtra go plan. Sometimes my connection becomes unactive after using for long time llike 2-3 hours. During that time, If I download somthing gets cancelled i get a msg" connection to server was reset". How can i always keep my broadband conncetion active plz help.

polo
05-07-2006, 06:00 AM
im running win xp pro

sam m
05-07-2006, 07:15 AM
You could try setting your DNS servers. I had a different problem solved by doing this. My internet activity would stop if the computer wasnt used for a few hours.

I use 202.27.184.3 & 202.27.184.5 for Xtra.

robsonde
05-07-2006, 07:28 AM
I am on xtra go plan. Sometimes my connection becomes unactive after using for long time llike 2-3 hours. During that time, If I download somthing gets cancelled i get a msg" connection to server was reset". How can i always keep my broadband conncetion active plz help.

how is your router connected to computer??
USB?
Networkcable?

polo
05-07-2006, 03:16 PM
computer is connected through LAN to ADSL modem

polo
06-07-2006, 09:04 AM
how do i use DNS server

PaulD
06-07-2006, 09:12 AM
Some of the modems have Firmware upgrades for a restarting after a problem fault, check the Xtra help pages.

smithie 38
06-07-2006, 10:17 AM
To change your DNS servers, if any are set -

Go into Network Connections > Local Area Connection > Properties > Internet Protocol > Properties and in "Use the following DNS server" addresses change the "Preferred DSN server" and "Alternate DNS server" settings.

Trying using the DNS numbers that sam m suggested, or you could use your own ISP ones.

FoxyMX
06-07-2006, 09:24 PM
Another thing to try is disabling the DNS service:

Start > Run > type services.msc then double-click DNS Client and in the Startup Type choose Disable.

rawkus1020
07-07-2006, 12:01 AM
also to stop losing all downloaded info buy losing internet conection is to download though a download manager saves having to restart the download process this doesnt solve your problem but helpfull if you downloading large files happened to me when i was downloading vista beta 3 something gigs