PDA

View Full Version : Win XP Users

mejobloggs
03-07-2006, 09:38 AM
I have never used multiple users on XP before, and I am giving it a try now..... I find it very annoying.

I thought each login would be seperate from the others, so I could isntall a program to one user, and it wouldn't be on the other user. Yet I never get the option to 'install for this user only', instead it just installs to all users.

Settings muck up. Some of my programs adds icons to the system tray. I can open the program and choose 'don't show in system tray', but when I restart, the icon appears again. I never had this problem with single-user.

And my Notepad++ right click shell extension no longer works :( Usuall I could right clic > Open in Notepad++ for any file, but not now. I have tried manually registering the shellextension dll, but no luck.

I wanted to set up 2 users. Basically 1 for me with apache and a whole lot of other things running in the background, and another user for games (which wouldnt have loads of stuff slowing the games down).

How do you guys use multiple users?

Greg
03-07-2006, 09:42 AM
I understand your frustration. I set up a second user account the other day for the first time, and when using it all my settings are lost and it's an ******** trying to re-set them as there's no way to copy the settings from my admin account. So I just deleted the new user account and stick with admin now.

gibler
03-07-2006, 10:15 AM
What you have here is apps that just weren't designed correctly. Some programs correctly offer options to install for all users or just the current user.

As far as playing games, I'd just use the one user account and use a script to shutdown unwanted services, virus scanner etc and another script to start them backup.

As for notepad++ (http://sourceforge.net/forum/message.php?msg_id=3615371)
(which is a favourite app of mine).

chiefnz
03-07-2006, 10:23 AM