PDA

View Full Version : Is WGA is a spyware?



stingray68
02-07-2006, 11:20 AM
Is WGA is a spyware?

Should I say no to installing WGA on my PC? Would it cause problem later?

I might starting thinking about alternative OS like Linux or Mac........

Shortcircuit
02-07-2006, 11:30 AM
There are a few threads on here about it already.

Yes, I'd class it as spyware, even if it now phones home to Microsoft once a month instead of every day.

Your comp will run perfectly on SP1 if you haven't already installed SP2 (the WGA bonus comes with SP2)

You do have to agree to WGA installed on your comp if you want some updates.

Speedy Gonzales
02-07-2006, 11:32 AM
Depends which WGA you're talking about.

The validation tool u need, the notification you dont have to install.

SurferJoe46
02-07-2006, 12:15 PM
........and again, you can kill the little caller in SpyBot S&D.

You will only get so far if you tell it "no" for long...and you won't get the updates for things other than "critical" objects either.

Defining "critical" is a M$ mystery though.

Prescott
02-07-2006, 01:14 PM
It's pretty damn close to spyware....

Pancake
02-07-2006, 02:16 PM
I used this WGA Remover (http://www.technosquid.com/wga/) to clean them out and have no problems and can still download updates.

Renmoo
02-07-2006, 03:02 PM
Would blocking WGA from connecting to the Internet via a firewall solve the issue on notification? Or do you need to completely uninstall it?

Cheers :)