PDA

View Full Version : Hard drive cause system pauses



jeffreyyan
29-06-2006, 04:54 PM
I got a new Seagate 300GB SATAII hard drive with 16MB cache about a month ago. I never really noticed it until now, but it seems that whenever I copy a large file to it, it makes my system make very slight pauses every few seconds during the transfer.

gibler
29-06-2006, 05:28 PM
Is DMA Enabled? (http://www.onthegosoft.com/dma_setting_nt.htm) You might want to look at updated motherboard drivers if it isn't?

Also, you might want to run the hard drive through Seatools Desktop (http://www.seagate.com/support/seatools/).

Or, it might be you virus scanner slowing things down ..

tweak'e
29-06-2006, 06:43 PM
sure its not the AV scanning the file?

jeffreyyan
29-06-2006, 06:46 PM
I'm pretty sure it's not the AV scanning. Files seem to copy perfectly without any slowdowns to another hard drive of mine. Right now I'm running 3 hard drives, the 300GB is the third.

If I copy between my two older drives it works fine. With the 300GB however, if I copy from another drive to this drive it not only makes the system pause every so often it also seems much slower, takes about twice the time.

tweak'e
29-06-2006, 06:54 PM
what brand/model controller does the hardrive connect to?

jeffreyyan
29-06-2006, 07:02 PM
It's connected to the Nvidia SATAII controller on my ASUS A8N-SLI deluxe motherboard. I figured it would be better to connect it to that controller rather then the silicon image one as that one doesn't support SATAII?