PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Legitimate Movie Downloads

Vallis
26-06-2006, 05:15 PM
I have no experience with downloading movies. Following search results produces a plethora of illegal and ripoff sites.
Any pointers to legit movie download sites would be much appreciated.

rob_on_guitar
26-06-2006, 06:38 PM
You mean to purchase? on for free downloads?

Vallis
26-06-2006, 06:49 PM
I mean to purchase. I'm presuming that the free download sites are illegal.

rob_on_guitar
26-06-2006, 07:57 PM
To download by purchase I guess Movielink or Cinemanow (google them to have a look), or you to order off the net Amazon. Hope that helps, I too have trouble finding a decent site.

Renmoo
26-06-2006, 08:41 PM
Movielink is only available to US residents:

Thanks for your interest in Movielink, the leading movie download service. Sorry, but Movielink is presently unavailable to users outside of the United States.

Cheers :)

rob_on_guitar
26-06-2006, 09:52 PM
My bad sorry. :o

Renmoo
26-06-2006, 10:00 PM
My bad sorry. :o
Don't worry. When I read about movielink in PCWorld US version, I thought it is available for the whole world. Upon checking out the website, I found that it is limited to only the Yanks. (by any chance, is this a derogatory word?) :annoyed:

Laura
26-06-2006, 10:38 PM
It is slang, James.
Some people may find it derogatory, depending on how it is used - jokingly or in a sarcastic fashion.
It's not as common here nowadays as it was a few decades ago - perhaps because some people did find it derogatory..?

MTLance
26-06-2006, 11:22 PM
Movies Downloads? Why not buy the DVD? It is a lot cheaper. Than download.

SurferJoe46
27-06-2006, 07:40 AM
<snipped> I found that it is limited to only the Yanks. (by any chance, is this a derogatory word?) :annoyed:

Don't worry James, the word "Yank" has a few different meanings, but you are not capable of delivering an insulting one.