PDA

View Full Version : Broadband - what do I need?

Beemer
19-06-2006, 05:21 PM
I've coped quite happily with dial-up for five years but after using broadband on a contract job recently, I realised it could make my life a lot easier!

While Paradise is my ISP, I'm still with Telecom for my landline and tolls, so I'm guessing it would be cheaper and easier to go with them for broadband (especially if it's when they've got a free modem/connection deal on offer), but I don't really know what I need and I'm hoping someone will be able to help me.

I don't play online games and I have never downloaded music or videos (apart from in emails people have sent me), but I am a photographer and it would be great to send photos via email more often - currently it's so slow I burn them onto a CD and post them! I see that Xtra has a 1GB flat rate plan ($39.95) that I think would probably be sufficient, but I'm not sure. I want more speed when downloading emails and opening websites but I have no idea what I would download (forgive my blondeness, but is opening a page on a website considered downloading or do I have do save something onto my hard drive for this to be a download?) in a given 28-day period. How do I find out?

I have my landline phone number printed on my business cards so changing the number (if this has to be done to use an ISP other than Xtra) is not an option. Is Xtra okay? I had problems with them before, which is why I changed to Paradise, but I am getting desperate for a connection that doesn't take minutes for me to view each page!

Any advice would be gratefully appreciated. This is - of course - assuming I can even get broadband in the first place - we live in the country and have trouble with our landline on a regular basis!

Trev
19-06-2006, 05:29 PM
Click Here (http://jetstream.xtra.co.nz/chm/0,,202853-1000,00.html) and enter your phone number to see if you can get broadband.

Trevor :)

Shortcircuit
19-06-2006, 05:32 PM