PDA

View Full Version : Video Drivers



plod
18-05-2006, 09:25 AM
I'm trying to get a old laptop going, the brand is TINY, I need a video driver for it. Are there any sites that will do a scan.
"Standard PCI Graphics Adaptor (VGA)" that the imformation in device manager.
Lappy currently running ME( I Know) but it was the only legal disc I have.

pctek
18-05-2006, 10:56 AM
Tried searching the model number of this laptop??

Or run Belarc or one of those programs to see if it can identify the chip type.

plod
18-05-2006, 12:00 PM
MODEL: Tiny computers A360 Mass Production
MB: FIC A360 Mass production
Thats from Belarc. I have googled with no luck

tweak'e
18-05-2006, 12:23 PM
try everest, it should give you chipset details and hopefuly you can use generic drivers rather than manafactures.

muzzle
18-05-2006, 12:24 PM
i would suggest try to use various generic vga drivers.
i assume there is a reason you need a driver for it? as in, is the display not funcioning correctly without the river?

plod
18-05-2006, 12:33 PM
try everest, it should give you chipset details and hopefuly you can use generic drivers rather than manafactures.
everest is no longer avalible.
I have found a driver and downloaded it, where does the driver need to go so it can be installed .

pctek
18-05-2006, 12:43 PM
Tracing your board: FIC A360 we find the on-board graphics: S3 Savage4

I suppose downloading the driver might be worth a try.

Integrated S3 Savage4 with shared 8/16/32 MB memory

http://www.laptopsolutions.plc.uk/Fic_A360_A360+_Spec_Sheet.htm

S3 Savage4

http://www.savagenews.com/?action=articles&article=8&section=1

More links here: http://www.google.com/search?q=S3%20Savage4

How to isntall:
Depends whether the driver is a .exe in which case just run it.
Or extracts into various files without a .exe. In which case you go into DISPLAy, choose Settings, choose adapter - CHANGE - point it to the location of the files when it asks.

Speedy Gonzales
18-05-2006, 12:44 PM
You install it, if its an exe file. It'll install whatever files in the right folder/s.

It should be more than 1 file.

Everest is still around do a search in google or yahoo, for Everest Home.

memphis
18-05-2006, 01:32 PM
Go to www.download.com

Go to www.filehippo.com

For free downloads of heaps of stuff. :thumbs:

Greven
18-05-2006, 01:50 PM
a lot of links for everst that I found on goole when I went looking for it a wile ago were broken. I got it from majorgeeks

plod
18-05-2006, 03:39 PM
You install it, if its an exe file. It'll install whatever files in the right folder/s.

It should be more than 1 file.

Everest is still around do a search in google or yahoo, for Everest Home.
thanks guys, Well it was only one file and I'm still stuck in 16colour

pctek
18-05-2006, 05:27 PM
It installed it? You rebooted? It allows you to go back into display - settings and change it off 16 colours?
You downloaded the right one for your O/S?

plod
22-05-2006, 11:11 AM
well after tring about 6 different drivers from different locations, I finally found one that worked.The product had support stopped back in 2002 and half the links were dead.
Thanks for all the help :thumbs:

tweak'e
22-05-2006, 12:32 PM
it wasn't on s3's home page? (s3 is owned by VIA, there is a link off their site to it)