PDA

View Full Version : Computer Randomly Freezes



Codex
13-05-2006, 09:12 PM
Ok now that i have this other video card installed my system randomly freezes, stops completely, no cpu activity(no sound) everything stops, music etc, keyboard does nothing, not even numb lock light changes etc, jsut stops

on the S3 ViRGE 350 card i turned off the hardware acceleration to see if that would help, i havnt had much luck so far on my own

any help please?? =)

memphis
13-05-2006, 09:39 PM
What cooling do you have ie, case has 2 x 120mm fans etc.

Are you using a good power supply unit as well.

Make sure plenty of cool air can get into your case,could take the side cover on the case off as a short term fix.

See if it needs a good clean out as well dust etc on fans, in case etc,tidy cables away to allow more air flow.

:thumbs:

systm
13-05-2006, 09:48 PM
Hey Codex

Could u post a bit more info like system specs etc :D

Codex
13-05-2006, 10:08 PM
What cooling do you have ie, case has 2 x 120mm fans etc.

Are you using a good power supply unit as well.

Make sure plenty of cool air can get into your case,could take the side cover on the case off as a short term fix.

See if it needs a good clean out as well dust etc on fans, in case etc,tidy cables away to allow more air flow.

:thumbs:
not sure actually jsut one fan i think and its a stupid compaq slimline case

really wanna know my extremely bad specs? lol

Pentium III - 590MHz
ON Board Intel GFX 12 Meg
13gig hd
Powered by riding bicycle
192 SDRAM

wahoo! yay for meeeeee COUGH DIE COUGH X_X

memphis
13-05-2006, 10:45 PM
1.clean out dust.

2.tidy cables away.

3.case should have place for a intake fan at front and a outtake fan at back of case.(put fans there if there is not a fan there allready.)

4.take the side cover on the case off as a short term fix.

5.Hey specs wise as long as your happy its your pc after all. :thumbs:

Codex
13-05-2006, 10:49 PM
1.clean out dust.

2.tidy cables away.

3.case should have place for a intake fan at front and a outtake fan at back of case.(put fans there if there is not a fan there allready.)

4.take the side cover on the case off as a short term fix.

5.Hey specs wise as long as your happy its your pc after all. :thumbs:
well im not happy with this comp if it was up to me i wudve burned it along time ago

but hey i cant get anything better, cause it would take me years to save up.

I just cleaned out the case completely again

and tried repositioning alot of the cables

hope this helps.... if not :badpc: :badpc: :badpc:

Speedy Gonzales
13-05-2006, 10:56 PM
And what OS is on it??

Codex
13-05-2006, 10:56 PM
And what OS is on it??
XP Pro SP2

memphis
13-05-2006, 11:01 PM
Ok, now do steps 3. and 4. on my last post and that will help as well. :thumbs:

Speedy Gonzales
13-05-2006, 11:04 PM
It cld be the OS its running 192 mb isnt that much for XP.

I wld check control panel / admin tools / event viewer.. on the left where it says system, or application (most probably system).

See whats got a triangle, error or system error by it. Tell us what it says.

Codex
13-05-2006, 11:13 PM
well these are the only relevant ones i cud find, the rest were me closing ipod service lol

Event Type: Error
Event Source: ACPI
Event Category: None
Event ID: 5
Date: 5/13/2006
Time: 10:29:39 PM
User: N/A
Computer: ALEXPC
Description:
AMLI: ACPI BIOS is attempting to write to an illegal IO port address (0x70), which lies in the 0x70 - 0x71 protected address range. This could lead to system instability. Please contact your system vendor for technical assistance.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 00 00 00 00 04 00 52 00 ......R.
0008: 00 00 00 00 05 00 05 c0 .......
0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........





&



Event Type: Error
Event Source: ACPI
Event Category: None
Event ID: 4
Date: 5/13/2006
Time: 10:29:39 PM
User: N/A
Computer: ALEXPC
Description:
AMLI: ACPI BIOS is attempting to read from an illegal IO port address (0x71), which lies in the 0x70 - 0x71 protected address range. This could lead to system instability. Please contact your system vendor for technical assistance.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 00 00 00 00 04 00 52 00 ......R.
0008: 00 00 00 00 04 00 05 c0 .......
0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........




if that helped at all...

Speedy Gonzales
13-05-2006, 11:21 PM
Its a possibility the BIOS may need updating.

As stated on the MS Site (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q283649)

Do you know the brand/model of the mobo??

Codex
13-05-2006, 11:23 PM
Its a possibility the BIOS may need updating.

As stated on the MS Site (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q283649)

Do you know the brand/model of the mobo??
not a clue sorry, how the feck can i find that out lol last time i tried i gave up i think

Speedy Gonzales
13-05-2006, 11:26 PM
Well, either use that Belarc adviser program whatever it is, Sisoft Sandra.

Or Everest Free.

Or the easiest way. Open the case. Look for a brand and model printed on the mobo.

How were u closing the ipod service?? If u want to take it off the system, whether its plugged into the USB port, or the dock, right mouse and select eject.

memphis
13-05-2006, 11:41 PM
Yeah I think you could do with say a 512mb stick is cheap enough,and a bigger harddrive say no less then 80gb.-(they fill up fast and its cheap,bigger the harddriver the better,same with ram more the better) :2cents:

Heck how much spare cash or how much can you save up,a better computer would not cost too much compared to that one and would save a lot of hassle.

You could put linux on it instead of xp pro. :2cents:

Codex
14-05-2006, 12:28 AM
Well, either use that Belarc adviser program whatever it is, Sisoft Sandra.

Or Everest Free.

Or the easiest way. Open the case. Look for a brand and model printed on the mobo.

How were u closing the ipod service?? If u want to take it off the system, whether its plugged into the USB port, or the dock, right mouse and select eject.

Board: Compaq 0620h
Serial Number: H030DJQ20087
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Compaq 686J1 v2.10 03/15/2000

Speedy Gonzales
14-05-2006, 08:41 AM
Has it got like a label or sticker saying something like Compaq DeskPro 5400, or similar?? On the case somewhere??

Or something like this?

Deskpro EN Series SFF 6450, 6450+, 6500, Net PC 6400, P550, P600, P650, P700

Somehow, I dont think this system was meant to have XP on it.

Since, the prob you're having seems to affect only XP. And no other version of Windows.

I would say its one of the models on the left (http://search.hp.com/query.html?lang=en&submit.x=0&submit.y=0&qt=Compaq+Deskpro+EN+SFF&la=en&cc=us)

BUT which 1?

I think the technical guide (2nd pdf file link on the right) is for your system tho...

For the 810/810e P3 / celeron systems.

Codex
14-05-2006, 05:59 PM
hmmm well it had more problems running 98 lol

and today it hasnt done it =S

but heh it doesnt say what model specifically sorry

Speedy Gonzales
14-05-2006, 06:35 PM
Whats the product #.

This will start with P/N something, somewhere on the front or back of the case.