PDA

View Full Version : CD puzzle



JJJJJ
06-05-2006, 06:58 AM
I copied 9 CD's worth of info to CD. For back purposes and to transfer to new computer. Brand new CD's.

When I copied them to new comp. two of the disks could not be read.
The computer just ground away for a while then gave up. No message.

All disks were filled exactly the same way.

Is this a sign of faulty CD's? Brand new ???

Are there any tricks to help save the info?

Neil McC
06-05-2006, 08:37 AM
JJJJ, if you're using Nero check the discs out with Nero toolkit/Nero CD/DVD Speed and do a scan of them which will show if the data on the disc is good or not!
If it's not then it starts getting tricky!! I always now do a verify after burning any discs.

drcspy
06-05-2006, 08:39 AM
http://www.elpros.si/CDCheck/

Speedy Gonzales
06-05-2006, 09:02 AM
You can get a few faulty cd's in a spindle of cd's.

I suppose it depends on how you copied them (what program you used), and what u mean by copied.

And what you copied. And whether you finalised the cd's after.

Hopefully, you didnt back/copy programs that were installed already.

I would say they wont work, once you copy them to this new computer.

They'll have to be reinstalled on the new PC.

I wouldnt bother with verifying evverytime I burn.

It most probably takes it longer to burn.

JJJJJ
06-05-2006, 10:36 AM
You can get a few faulty cd's in a spindle of cd's.

I suppose it depends on how you copied them (what program you used), and what u mean by copied.

And what you copied. And whether you finalised the cd's after.

Hopefully, you didnt back/copy programs that were installed already.

I would say they wont work, once you copy them to this new computer.

They'll have to be reinstalled on the new PC.

I wouldnt bother with verifying evverytime I burn.

It most probably takes it longer to burn.

I didn't use any program to copy them. Just "sent to cd-rom E:"
The lost files were all *.doc files. Plus a few zip files.
They were all burned to disk.

drcspy
06-05-2006, 10:55 AM
so did you try that program I posted ?

JJJJJ
06-05-2006, 10:56 AM
http://www.elpros.si/CDCheck/
Yes. It said found two errors. But it didn't say what.