PDA

View Full Version : Where to get Rdram?



zahmad
15-04-2006, 12:05 PM
Where can I find rdram in Auckland?
Any ideas will be appreciated.

CHeers :D

pctek
15-04-2006, 12:47 PM
I can get it, buts its seriously expensive.

Neongreen
15-04-2006, 04:41 PM
Same here. I suggest going with DDR ram, to be honest. I've only gotten & sold RDRam in once, and that was a special case.

zahmad
16-04-2006, 10:37 AM
Dam, another Compaq upgrade monopoly.........

tweak'e
16-04-2006, 11:30 AM
nothing to with compaq, its just what you get for going with an exspencive overhyped technogly that failed :(

you might find some 2nd hand, some of the earlier systems its cheaper to replace the pc than it is to get the ram ;)

pctek
16-04-2006, 01:10 PM
nothing to with compaq, its just what you get for going with an exspencive overhyped technogly that failed :(

I had an RDRam board....it was ok but it came time to ditch it as the stuff is too expensive - and you have to have it in pairs, can't just add a single module.
DDR won that battle....

tweak'e
16-04-2006, 01:19 PM
unless your running a single channel rdram mobo, some of the early ones (p3, early p4) where single channel. biggest botchup intell ever did :(

Greven
16-04-2006, 02:22 PM
Apparently, Dell was a major influence in Intel's decision to drop RD RAM in favour of DDR.

Didn't RD RAM get really hot? Combined with the early PIVs that could be used as heaters, that must have been a killer combo :p. Sorry, couldn't resist the pun

drcspy
16-04-2006, 04:00 PM
probably cheaper to buy some ddr ram and a new mobo

tweak'e
16-04-2006, 04:36 PM
proberly need new cpu as well. not many DDR mobo's will handle the old P4's, mind even with the cost of new cpu,mobo,ram it may still work out cheaper and FASTER.

edit: quick look found http://www.ascent.co.nz/ProductSpecification.aspx?ItemID=112518

pctek
16-04-2006, 06:12 PM
Apparently, Dell was a major influence in Intel's decision to drop RD RAM in favour of DDR.

Didn't RD RAM get really hot? Combined with the early PIVs that could be used as heaters, that must have been a killer combo :p. Sorry, couldn't resist the pun
It wasn't a bad design, no it didn't get hot, it was FINE. Its just that DDR won the war.

zahmad
17-04-2006, 06:25 PM
Great, that gets rid of the idea to go and buy some new ram for the "early" p4 1.4ghz (costliest **** my family ever paid for) will have to stick with 128mb ram. Thanks for ur help guys. :thumbs: