PDA

View Full Version : Modulation?



JJJJJ
14-04-2006, 08:08 AM
Just received this from IHug. What doe it mean? And how do I change it?


At the moment your modulation type would be "multi-mode" you will need to change it to "G.DMT" :confused: :confused:

Terry Porritt
14-04-2006, 08:48 AM
:), You'd think they would tell you, we are not all geeks. :thumbs:

G.DMT is one of the systems used for enabling copper phone lines to carry digital signals of much higher bandwidth than one would think ordinary wires would be capable of.

The settings can be changed in your router, for example in my Dynalink, if I go into Configuration, DSL settings, I have the choice of Auto, G.dmt, G.lite, T1.413. Mine is currently set to Auto by default.

Safari
14-04-2006, 09:12 AM
You will need to login to the router configuration by putting the router IP address into the address bar of your web browser.
Once in there select Configuration from the list on the left and then Advanced
Select ADSL under Advanced
ADSL Configuration has a Handshake Protocol and G.dmt can be selected in the box there.
Click Submit and Reset to save the setting.

JJJJJ
14-04-2006, 09:27 AM
Mine is set on "autosense.G.DMT first"
Think I will leave it there as I'm not having any problems with new modem.
Thanks.

Safari
14-04-2006, 09:35 AM
Mine is set on "autosense.G.DMT first"
Think I will leave it there as I'm not having any problems with new modem.
Thanks.

Wise move. That is actually the normal setting anyway.