PDA

View Full Version : FC5 permissions ?



Phil B
10-04-2006, 11:25 PM
I'm having a look at FC5, installed it yesterday & updated. I have an IDE card with another hard drive connected & partitioned with NTFS & FAT. If I try to look at the drive through KDE home, applications/storage media, it says I don't have permission
I try again with the file manager su mode & get the same result. I can't find it in any of the directories except for /dev, & then it's not a directory. In Mandriva 2006 running KDE the access is easy. The question is how do I get access so I can view & change files ect.

Kame
10-04-2006, 11:46 PM
First things first is that you'll need to install NTFS because Fedora does not ship with anything that there could be some concern with Licensing issues, they're just trying to keep their backsides safe because if something did come about this, it'd dramatically affect most distributions.

First I would install the Livna Repo. All commands I give are for terminal because it'd help all who use GNOME or KDE.


su -c "rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-5.rpm"

or


su -c "rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/5/i386/livna-release-5-4.noarch.rpm

Also have a look at this site as you may need to download them too, I did, but I don't think it's required:

http://www.linux-ntfs.org/content/view/187/

read their instructions to help you along.

That will allow you to download from livna using yum now.

Next code is to grab the required NTFS driver:


su -c "yum -y install kmod-ntfs ntfs-kmod-common"

Next is setting up your /etc/fstab using whatever text editor you like, for me I'm using vim, first lets make a backup copy and then output what devices we have with what partitions they use.


su -c "cp /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.bak"
su -c "/sbin/fdisk -l"

Note which devices you want to have and create mount points for them e.g.


su -c "mkdir /mnt/ntfsdrive"
su -c "mkdir /mnt/vfatdrive"

Then lets edit fstab:

su -c "vim /etc/fstab"

This is what you should add:


/dev/hda1 /mnt/ntfsdrive ntfs auto,noexec,user,ro,umask=0222 0 0
/dev/hda2 /mnt/vfatdrive vfat auto,noexec,user,rw 0 0

(press INSERT to get into writing mode, press ESC and type :wq to save and quit).

You may allow executing, but how Windows does it, everything is executable to it, so Linux will ask whether you'd want to run say an image or text file as an executable, better to make it so it doesn't execute at all (used mainly for binary programs, .exe files etc).

Now that should be it, no need for restarting anything and any user should be allowed to access those drives. I have SELinux disabled so I'm not sure whether that would cause you any problems.


Cheers,


KK

Sam I Am
11-04-2006, 08:56 AM
At the risk of starting a repo war, consider following the instructions here (http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html)

Stanton uses frshrpms rather than livna for everything except Nvidia drivers. This is what I use to set my FC5 up.

Kame
11-04-2006, 01:47 PM
There's really no repo war, I use both, but only Livna provides kmod-ntfs, also some packages from freshrpm are dated or conflict with livna so you do have to watch out for these. Ones that I truly stay well away from is atrpms, these caused me the most problems in earlier version of Fedora, so I no longer use them.

To install the Freshrpms repo do:


su -c "rpm -ivh http://ayo.freshrpms.net/fedora/linux/5/i386/RPMS.freshrpms/freshrpms-release-1.1-1.fc.noarch.rpm"

Importing the GPG keys are not neccessary if you set your repo up correctly, FC5 using yum automatically fetches the key if it's not installed on the system, but it must reside in the repo file for that to happen.

Cheers,


KK

Phil B
13-04-2006, 11:09 PM
Hi Kame
Thanks for the reply, thats all set up & working now thanks to you. And no you don't need the linux-ntfs link. I've got selinux enabled, I'm not too sure what it does apart from extra security. It's the first time I've had FC set up & things have actually worked, ie printer, webcam, tv card & the sound. The sound has always been a pain, but this time it just worked from go. KDE 3.4 & 3.5 are big improvements on the predecessors although I can find things much easier in Mandriva, thats just familiarity I think. The only distro that's ever had the ide card work was Mandrake/Mandriva. Now I've got choice. The tv card has a much clearer picture in FC & some of the remote control functions work too. I've now got access to the backup hard drive, it boots up really quickly, so I think I'll stick with this FC version for longer than a week & give it a proper go now they've got rid of some of the frustrating user unfriendly quirks, I pressed the button & it gave me back my CD, that's never happened before.

Thanks for the link sam, i'll keep that one